Chem 732 - Advances in Macromolecular Structure and Function: Home
Advances in Macromolecular Structure and Function
Find Articles
- SciFindernThe database includes information from the Chemical Abstracts Service. Users must first register with their UNC email accounts before accessing this resource.
Instructions on combining reference sets in SciFinder
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine
Introduction to MeSH (Medical Subject Headings)
- ScopusA citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journals and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text.
Ethics
On Being a Scientist by
The scientific research enterprise is built on a foundation of trust. Scientists trust that the results reported by others are valid. Society trusts that the results of research reflect an honest attempt by scientists to describe the world accurately and without bias. But this trust will endure only if the scientific community devotes itself to exemplifying and transmitting the values associated with ethical scientific conduct. "On Being a Scientist" was designed to supplement the informal lessons in ethics provided by research supervisors and mentors. The book describes the ethical foundations of scientific practices and some of the personal and professional issues that researchers encounter in their work. It applies to all forms of research--whether in academic, industrial, or governmental settings-and to all scientific disciplines. This third edition of "On Being a Scientist" reflects developments since the publication of the original edition in 1989 and a second edition in 1995. A continuing feature of this edition is the inclusion of a number of hypothetical scenarios offering guidance in thinking about and discussing these scenarios. "On Being a Scientist" is aimed primarily at graduate students and beginning researchers, but its lessons apply to all scientists at all stages of their scientific careers.
ISBN: 9780309119702Publication Date: 2009-04-24
Scientific Integrity by
This widely adopted textbook provides the essential content and skill-building tools for teaching the responsible conduct of scientific research. Scientific Integrity covers the breadth of concerns faced by scientists: protection of animal and human experimental subjects, scientific publication, intellectual property, conflict of interest, collaboration, record keeping, mentoring, and the social and ethical responsibilities of scientists. Learning activities and resources designed to elucidate the principles of scientific integrity include Dozens of highly relevant, interactive case studies for discussion in class or online Numerous print and online resources covering the newest research guidelines, regulations, mandates and policies Discussion questions, role-playing exercises, and survey tools to promote critical thought Documents including published rules of conduct, sample experimentation protocols, and patent applications The new edition of Scientific Integrity responds to significant recent changes―new mandates, policies, laws, and other developments―in the field of responsible conduct of research. Dr. Macrina plants the seeds of awareness of existing, changing, and emerging standards in scientific conduct and provides the tools to promote critical thinking in the use of that information. Scientific Integrity is the original turnkey text to guide the next generations of scientists as well as practicing researchers in the essential skills and approaches for the responsible conduct of science.
ISBN: 1555816614Publication Date: 2014-07-23
The Ethical Chemist by
The basis of this book is a series of specific cases that present the kinds of ethical problems faced by both students and practicing chemists. Following these cases are commentaries that discuss the ethical issues raised, and present possible solutions in the form of morally acceptable courses of action. The introductory chapters provide an overview of ethics, morals, and ethical theory, as well as a discussion of professionalism and ethics in science. Ethical problem solving is explored in the chapter preceding the cases and commentaries. For chemists and scientists in other disciplines facing similar situations.
ISBN: 0190668652Publication Date: 2003-07-30
Data Sources
- Re3Data (now merged w/ Databib)Searchable catalog of over 400 research data repositories for a broad array of disciplines.
- DryadThis open-access repository for scientific and medical data allows searching of data sets and links data to original publications.
- FigshareFigshare is a web service that makes data "citable, searchable, and shareable." Research data in a variety of formats is freely available through the figshare search tool and is protected under a Creative Commons copyright license.
- GigaDBGigaDB is a repository primarily, but not exclusively, that hosts data and tools associated with articles in GigaScience.
- National Institutes of Health (NIH) Data Sharing RepositoriesA searchable list of NIH-supported data repositories and resources that aggregate information about biomedical data. Each entry has a link to information about submitting data to and accessing data from the repository, along with a link to the website for the repository itself.
- Protein DatabaseDatabase of protein sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB.
- Scientific Data (Nature)Scientific Data is an open-access, peer-reviewed publication for descriptions of scientifically valuable datasets.
Carolina Digital Repository (CDR)
The Carolina Digital Repository (CDR) provides long-term access and safekeeping for scholarly works, datasets, research materials, records, and audiovisual materials produced by the UNC-Chapel Hill community. The CDR currently supports:
- Relationships with other repositories. UNC has built a relationship with BioMed Central to automatically ingest content authored by UNC researchers who only have to deposit their works once.
- Embargo. The CDR supports the attachment of an embargo with any future date to a work. Visitors can see that the document exists but cannot download it until the embargo has passed.
- Preservation. The CDR creates multiple copies of an object and monitors them over time to ensure long-term health.
- Indexing/discovery. The CDR promotes discovery of works both within the software and via external indexing sites such as Google, Yahoo, and Bing.
If you are interested in depositing materials in the CDR, email cdr@unc.edu and the repository staff will contact you with further detail.
Resources on Funding and Grant Writing
- UNC Funding Information PortalThe Funding Information Portal is a collection of databases and other resources selected to help UNC graduate students, faculty, and staff identify and apply for funding opportunities.
Complete Book of Grant Writing by ISBN: 9781402267314Publication Date: 2012-08-01This book is a must-have reference if you're seeking funding through grants-government grants, foundation grants, specialty grants, and more.
Guide to Effective Grant Writing by ISBN: 9781461415817Publication Date: 2012-06-12This book covers all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples.
Grant Writing for Dummies by ISBN: 9781118856505Publication Date: 2014-03-05Your comprehensive guide to finding and winning grant monies
Science Libraries Chat
Therese Triumph
Therese Triumph
she/her/hers
orcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574Do you have your ORCID?
Obtain an ORCID iD & link it to UNC
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized. Find out more
Writing and Citing
- ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationThis online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).
Write Like a Chemist by ISBN: 9780195367423Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.
Outlines:
-
How to write an outline (video)
-
Why and how to create an outline (Purdue OWL)
Abstracts:
- UNC Writing Center - Abstracts - Excellent guide to composing abstracts. Also available as a PDF
Researching in the Sciences (videos)
Author's Guide for submitting an article to the ACS journal Analytical Chemistry
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (online)
Connect with us
