Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

IDST 290.011 - The Need for Speed: Home

Home

Library Session PowerPoint Slides

Session One - Library Instruction

Science Databases

Scopus
Collection of science, technical, medical, social science and more peer-reviewed journal and conference literature.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
PubMed
Database of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1957-present
IEEE Xplore
Access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1988 - (Select content from 1950 on)
SciFinderⁿ
In-depth information on chemical reactions, substances and references on organic and inorganic substances over a broad range of scientific disciplines.
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.

Coverage: 1967-present

**Please note you will need to register in SciFinder to access the database**

Popular Science Sources

These sources are not scholarly, but may give you a good idea of current research trends and topics. If you can't retrieve an article from the popular magazine, check for its availability through the library website (https://library.unc.edu/)

Discover Magazine	Scientific American
The Economist	Science News
National Science Foundation - Discoveries	Time Magazine
The New York Times - Science (register for access)	US News and World Report
NPR Science News	Washington Post
Popular Science

Writing and Citing

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
This online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).

Write Like a Chemist by Marin S. Robinson; Fredricka L. Stoller; Molly Constanza-Robinson; James K. Jones
ISBN: 9780195367423
Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.