Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Demographic & Market Research: Market Research

Info. on Products & Services

IBISWorld Industry Reports
Key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors and outlook for over 700 U.S. & international industries. Reports are available as pdf and Excel .

Reports (40-60 pages) on
- The Newspaper Industry(print news)
- Internet Publishing & Broadcasting (Alphabet, Apple, Meta, Netflix, online news)
- Cable Networks (Disney, NBCUniversal, Viacom)
- Television Broadcasting (Comcast, Fox, Sinclair)
- Radio Broadcasting (refers to online radio and podcasts)
- Internet Radio Broadcasting (Pandora, iHeartRadio)
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Mintel Academic
Market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the U.S. Consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market size and trends, market segmentation, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. 2001-present. See:
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 2001 -

Orbis
See Industry Profiles on media industries. Go to research at top left (under building icon), then select Industries, then Industry Classifications, then Marketline on left.

then search for media.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Euromonitor Passport
Business reports on countries, companies, markets and consumers. Covers 350 markets and 207 countries. Includes SWOT analyses, country briefings, and detailed industry reports.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. Most data for past few years, some back to 1977.
GlobalData Intelligence
Information on consumer packaged goods. More than one million SKUs for foods, beverages, health & beauty aids, household, pet and tobacco products from around the world.
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.

Statista
Data on topics such as pet ownership, music sales, poverty, social media use, and much more. Or browse their market research categories. View online and download as .xls..
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Tons more at Statista!

PolicyMap
Online mapping tool with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Simmons Insights
Data on adult U.S. consumers includes attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. Covers a wide variety of products, brands and services.

Data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income, etc.); consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes); and buying and media habits. Create reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
Contains two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of America's consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
U.S. Census Quick Facts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

Social Explorer
Provides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Consumer Spending
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis - data about the nation's economy

Statistical Abstract of the United States
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password.
Coverage: 2013 - Present

Business Source Premier
Industry reports, company profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Articles about thousands of companies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies widely.
ProQuest Business Market Research Collection
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from: Hoover's Company Profiles; OxResearch; Snapshots. Great for research on private companies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Reports from Richard K. Miller & Associates through UNC Library:
Amazing data about a variety of topics, including...

Consumer marketing. 2022
Data about news readership and circulation (including alternative weeklies), expenditures in various advertising platforms, and lots of market research.
Consumer use of the internet & mobile. 2022
How people use the Internet, including for reading news, listening to podcasts, making travel plans, and more.

See especially Traffic Statistics for Top Websites.
Entertainment & leisure business market research. 2022
Data about how often people participate in various activities, including news reading, sports (watching and participating), radio listening, tv viewing, etc.
Retail & e-commerce market research. 2022

SimplyAnalytics
Includes demographic, consumer spending, market segment, and purchasing data. Sources include Mediamark, Simmons, the U.S. Census, and more. Create maps or download data into Excel .
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
Sports and sporting goods industry market research, demographics, and industry news.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.