Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
MBA 858 - Markets, Government, and Sustainable Growth: Business Data & Statistics
General Sources for Data (Start Here)
-
Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
-
ICPSRComputer readable social science data. Areas covered include: population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required. Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated.
-
StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. -
data.census.govData.census.gov is the primary way to access data from most U.S. Census Bureau surveys and programs. Search for data tables from the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, Economics Census, annual Population Estimates, annual economic surveys, and more. Visit the Census Academy site to learn more about using this tool.
-
Social ExplorerProvides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Wharton Research Data Services
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is the access platform for a large collection of databases for business data and statistics. See Guide to Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) for more information.
State & Local Data
-
LINC (Log Into North Carolina)Provides NC statistical data in these broad areas: Population and Housing, Vital Statistics and Health, Social and Human Services, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections, Environment, Recreation, and Resources, Energy and Utilities, Government, Employment and Income, Business and Industry, Agriculture & Transportation. This resource indexes over 1300 data items from state and federal agencies. It accesses historical data and projections, 1960s to 2030. Customized report capabilities and pre-formatted topic reports, including census profiles, are available. (Source: Vendor website)
-
NC LEADNC Labor Economic Analysis Division. Demographic profiles of North Carolina counties.
Reports on the state of various industries in North Carolina, Comparison of North Carolina to the other states on basic demographic, infrastructure and business climate measures. -
Economic Development Partnership of North CarolinaThe Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina (EDPNC) is focused on recruiting new businesses to the state, supporting the needs of existing businesses, connecting exporters to global customers, helping small business owners get their start, and attracting tourists and visitors from all over the world.
-
County Business PatternsAn annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. The series is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. (source Census website)
-
Business Formation Statistics (Census)BFS data cover Employer Identification Number (EIN) applications made in the United States, including those associated with starting a new employer business. EINs are IDs used by business entities for tax purposes. In addition, BFS also provide information on actual and projected employer business formations originating from the EIN applications. Data are available at the national, regional, state, and county level. Data are also available by 2-digit NAICS industry sector at the national level.
-
North Carolina's Official Labor Market Data SourceProvides county demographics, county labor and occupations data (including average wages), costs for buildings and sites, and more. From the NC Dept. of Commerce.
Market Data & Mapping (demographics, spending, and/or psychographics)
-
SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
-
StatistaProvides statistics and survey results targeting business customers, faculty, and researchers. Includes statistics on economies, markets, and industries. Contains over one million statistics on more than 80,000 topics, covering 170 industries.
-
Census Narrative Profiles (current demographics)Covers social, economic, housing and demographic data. Use "Place" for cities. From the American Community Survey.
-
Census: demographic subject linksProvides subject links to demographic tables from the American Community Survey. Use "Customize Table" to specify your geographies.
-
NC Dept of Commerce: area profiles and mapping (tapestries)Provides demographic and market profiles of locations with North Carolina.
-
Esri Business Analyst OnlineAccess demographic, business, and consumer data for market analysis, including consumer lifestyle and buying behavior.
Note: To use Business Analyst Online, you will need to create an Organizational ArcGIS Online Account. To create an account:
1. "Sign in"
2. "Your ArcGIS organization's URL" (under ArcGIS login): unc.maps.arcgis.com
3. Click "Continue" then "UNC Chapel Hill SSO"
4. Sign in with your Onyen
For help creating an account or accessing Business Analyst, please contact one of our librarians. -
PolicyMapCreate maps and tables from U.S. demographic and economic data. Does not include psychographics.
-
Euromonitor PassportProvides reports and marketing data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities from over 200 countries. Offers a single gateway to business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. Focuses on consumer-oriented industries.
-
GlobalData IntelligenceReports provide analysis, forecasts, news, and data for consumer industries such as suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channels, consumer insights and trends, company market share, pricing, and more. Search the Product Launch Analytics database by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.
Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu. -
Simmons InsightsData on adult U.S. consumers includes attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. Demographic and psychographic data.
-
Data Axle Reference SolutionsUse Consumers/Lifestyles data set for market research and customer discovery.
International Data (demographics and consumer spending)
-
Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed.
International Data Sources
-
World DataBankOffers an analysis and visualization tool of economic, social and environmental indicators. Contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Users can create queries, generate tables, charts, and maps, and easily save, embed, and share them.
-
UNdataProvides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
-
International Monetary Fund DataProvides IMF data from International Financial Statistics, World Economic Outlook, and many other datasets. The IMF provides technical assistance and training on critical economic issues to central banks, finance ministries, tax authorities, and other economic institutions.
-
Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. -
StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. -
Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
-
ABI/INFORM Collection
Articles from academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, general business magazines. Topics covered include leadership, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting, international business and economics.
-
China Data OnlineEconomic and demographic statistics about contemporary China on a monthly and/or yearly basis. Geographies include national, provicinial, county, and city levels.
Note:UNC-Chapel Hill subscribes only to the China Statistics. China census data is not included in this subscription.
Company & Financial Data
Need to download and analyze large sets of company or financial data? Start here.
-
LSEG WorkspaceSource for information on publicly traded U.S. and international companies: summary financial data with links to company filings, key ratios actual and forward estimates, stock pricing data, key corporate events, officers and directors, analyst rating, ESG scores, and more. Add-on Modules available: Aftermarket Reports (AMR), Datastream, SDC Platinum.
Note: Users must first self-register with their UNC email for a user account before accessing this resource. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu. -
Datastream
Provides daily pricing, volume, and performance information on equities, market stock and bond indices, macroeconomic data series, foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rates, fixed income instruments, financial and commodity futures and options contracts. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals for up to 10 years or longer.
Note: Datastream is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Complete this form to request this module be added to your account: https://unc.libwizard.com/f/datastream-access. Please allow 2 business days for a response to your request. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account, self-register for an account following the instructions here: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.
-
Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)
Information can be exported to Excel.
SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School. -
COMPUSTAT GlobalAnnual and quarterly financial and market data for hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts. Covers publicly traded companies. Data sets have been designed to reflect the varieties of actual reporting practices used across the globe, while allowing for minimal normalization and establishing consistency on an item by item basis for Non-North American companies.
Compustat Global is accessed through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
-
FactivaContains major global newspapers, business newspapers and magazines, trade and industry journals, prominent newswires, and network broadcast transcripts. In the Companies/Markets tab, there are global company reports, limited industry reports, and market data. The results pages allow robust filtering, and there is live chat help.
Note: 5 Concurrent User Limit -
Value Line Research CenterSource for investment research covering thousands of stocks, mutual funds, daily options, and convertible issues. The Value Line Investment Survey ranks stocks on many metrics and includes historical and projected prices, financials, and a quarterly analyst opinion. The Investment Education section includes a glossary, and the Value Line University introduces basics of investment, analysis, and the stock market.
-
OsirisContains information on over 110,000 publicly traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect accounting procedures in the major world regions.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Mergers and Acquisitions
-
CB InsightsProvides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.
Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.
-
VitalLaw (CCH IntelliConnect)Provides comprehensive federal and state tax information, including tax codes, regulations, court cases, IRS publications, editorial commentary and explanation.
-
Orbis M&ACovers mergers and acquisitions, initial public offerings, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumors. Global coverage includes European deals from 1997, North American deals from 2000, and Other Global Areas deals from 2003. Search by deal elements such as deal type, geography, industry, company financials, and multiples. Analyze deals in tables and graphs.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource. -
SDC Platinum
Provides detailed information on new issues, mergers and acquisitions, syndicated loans, and private equity for the global financial marketplace.
Note: SDC Platinum is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Complete this form to request this module be added to your account: https://unc.libwizard.com/f/sdc-platinum-access. Please allow 2 business days for a response to your request. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account, self-register for an account following the instructions here: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.
-
Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)
Information can be exported to Excel.
SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
Financial Markets Data (Stocks, Bonds, Mutual Funds, Indices)
-
ETF GlobalExchange Traded Funds (ETF) Global database includes bid ask and close pricing, expenses, tracking indexes, assets under management, data and funds flows, historical daily holding and ownership data and more.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill. -
Bloomberg Professional (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)This database provides access to current (real time ) and historical (about 20 years) of financial, economic, and political news and information covering all sectors of the world’s economy.
Special Note: Because of License Restrictions, Bloomberg access is limited to several computers in the Kenan-Flagler Business School’s Capital Markets Lab (room 2550) in the McColl Building and on 1 computer in the Technology Center (room 1130) on the 1st floor also in the McColl Building. -
CRSP IndicesProvides stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, Treasury bond and risk-free rates of return on daily, monthly, quarterly, and annual basis for the NYSE and AMEX from 1925 to the present and from 1972 for NASDAQ markets.
CRSP Indicies is accessed through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill. -
CRSP StocksLongitudinal price, return, volume, and other information for stocks on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ markets. Also available is return, volume, other and information on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ Market Indices. CRSP is intended solely for research and instructional purposes.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill. -
CRSP Mutual Fund Databasea history of each mutual fund’s name, investment style, fee structure, holdings, and asset allocation. Also included are monthly total returns, monthly total net assets, monthly/daily net asset values, and dividends. Additionally schedules of rear and front load fees, asset class codes, and management company contact information are provided. All data items are for open-end mutual funds and begin at varying times between 1962 and 2003 depending on availability. The database is updated quarterly and distributed with a quarterly lag.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill. -
CRSP U.S. TreasuriesCRSP Monthly and CRSP Daily US Treasury Databases include complete historical descriptive information and market data including prices, returns, accrued interest, yields, and durations since 1925 for the monthly data and from 1961 for the daily data.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
-
Datastream
Provides daily pricing, volume, and performance information on equities, market stock and bond indices, macroeconomic data series, foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rates, fixed income instruments, financial and commodity futures and options contracts. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals for up to 10 years or longer.
Note: Datastream is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Complete this form to request this module be added to your account: https://unc.libwizard.com/f/datastream-access. Please allow 2 business days for a response to your request. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account, self-register for an account following the instructions here: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.
-
OptionMetricsSource of historical price and implied volatility data for the U.S. equity and index options markets. Contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill. -
Mergent Fixed Income Securities Databasea comprehensive database of publicly-offered U.S. bonds. FISD contains issue details on over 140,000 corporate, corporate MTN (medium term note), supranational, U.S. Agency, and U.S. Treasury debt securities and includes more than 550 data items. FISD provides details on debt issues and the issuers, as well as transactions by insurance companies. It is used to research market trends, deal structures, issuer capital structures and other areas of fixed income debt research.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
Data & Statistics for International Trade
-
World DataBankOffers an analysis and visualization tool of economic, social and environmental indicators. Contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Users can create queries, generate tables, charts, and maps, and easily save, embed, and share them.
-
Penn World TablesPWT version 10.0 is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, covering 183 countries between 1950 and 2019.
-
UNdataProvides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
-
International Monetary Fund DataProvides IMF data from International Financial Statistics, World Economic Outlook, and many other datasets. The IMF provides technical assistance and training on critical economic issues to central banks, finance ministries, tax authorities, and other economic institutions.
-
Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. -
StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. -
Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionIncludes spreadsheets from Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data, which provides up to 370 variables for G20 countries, 1982-present, updated monthly. Use the Browse option to find these, and then change the sort to "Most recent".
Specialized Data Centers & Sites
-
Odum InstituteResearch & data center providing support for social science research. Online help & consultations available for: proposals, Qualtrics, survey research, qualitative research, quantitative research, data management, and more.
Maintains UNC Dataverse repository. -
Triangle Research Data CenterPart of the Federal Statistical Research Data Center (FSRDC) program. Under this program, the Census Bureau and other agencies allows researchers with approved proposals to perform statistical analysis on non-public microdata from a variety of statistical agencies to address important research questions.
-
Carolina Population CenterSix focus areas: Aging in Diverse Contexts; Inequality, Mobility, and Well-being; Links Between Health and Social and Economic Productivity; Measurement and Methods; Population, Health and Environment; and Sexuality, Reproduction, Fertility, and Families.
-
Carolina Population Center Data PortalData collected by the Carolina Population Center and available to the research community.
Guides to Data & Statistics
-
How to Cite DataThe purpose of citations is to enable others to find the same sources you used. Data are like any other source and should be cited in your bibliography and your writing.
-
Guide to ICPSRInformation about how to download political and social science data sets.
-
Census Data ResourcesGuide to (mostly online) resources for manipulating and extracting Census data.
Guides for Health Data & Statistics
-
Health Data & StatisticsFrequently used health data and statistics web sites for North Carolina, United States, and Global.
-
Global Health DataFrom UNC's Health Sciences Library
Strategy for Finding Data & Statistics
-
Strategy for Finding Statistics & Data (Accessible Version)Suggested strategies and questions to ask as you search for statistics and data for your projects.
