Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

KFBS Resources for Grad Students: International Business

Other International Resources

EuroPages
Find information on some 3 million companies in 35 European countries. Search by company name, industry, country, or region of country. Each entry includes addresses, phone numbers, maybe an email contact, maybe a map of the location. You must select one of 26 languages before searching.

Company Research

Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
In-depth financial information on publicly-traded U.S. and international companies. Includes transactions in both public and private capital markets by a wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executives' biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. Data can be exported to Excel .

NOTE:
- Access is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
- First time? Click New User? at the top right to create an account. Use your @kenan-flagler.unc.edu email account to register
- still stuck? check these detailed instructions

GlobalData Intelligence
Reports provide analysis, forecasts, news, and data for consumer industries such as suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channels, consumer insights and trends, company market share, pricing, and more. Search the Product Launch Analytics database by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.

Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu.
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.
CB Insights
Provides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.

Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.

Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.
LSEG Workspace
Provides information on publicly traded US and international companies; fka Refinitiv Workspace. Typically includes summary financial data with links to company filings, key ratios actual and forward estimates, stock pricing data, key corporate events, officers and directors, analyst rating, and analyst reports.

Aftermarket Reports (fka Investext) is a module of the LSEG Workspace database. Contains the full-text, including tables, charts and other graphics, of industry and company reports written by analysts from more than 700 of the world’s investment banks. Includes over 8 million company reports and more than 1.2 million industry reports dating back to 1982. Reports are generally added 1 to 2 weeks after initial publication.

Special Notes:
- Users must register with their UNC email for a user account before accessing this resource. Please consult: this page for detailed directions on registering for a user account.
- Users must authenticate with their UNC Onyen from both on-campus and off-campus.
Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up a user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account.

Industry Reports

IBISWorld Industry Reports
Covers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
LSEG Workspace
Information & data on publicly traded U.S. and international companies: summary financial data with links to company filings, key ratios actual and forward estimates, stock pricing data, key corporate events, officers and directors, analyst rating. Includes analyst "Aftermarket" reports (AMR): full-text industry and company reports written by investment bank analysts. More than 1.2 million reports available back to 1982.
Data can be exported to Excel .
NOTES:
- Register with your UNC email for an account before accessing this resource. See instructions at https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420.
- Authenticate even when on campus.
- Contact Nancy Lovas with any questions.
- 150-page daily download limit. Resets daily at 12:00 AM ET.
Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up a user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account.
Mintel Academic
Contains market research data and reports on consumer markets and products, demographics, consumer buying behavior and motivations, trends in global consumer markets. Many reports include Databooks with downloadable consumer survey data. U.S.-focused with some global coverage.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 2001 -
BCC Research
Industry and market research reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
GlobalData Intelligence
Reports provide analysis, forecasts, news, and data for consumer industries such as suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channels, consumer insights and trends, company market share, pricing, and more. Search the Product Launch Analytics database by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.

Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu.
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.
Euromonitor Passport
Data & reports for international consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Data can be exported to Excel .
Note:UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. Most data for past few years, some back to 1977.

WRDS Resources

COMPUSTAT Global
Annual and quarterly financial and market data for hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts. Covers publicly traded companies. Data sets have been designed to reflect the varieties of actual reporting practices used across the globe, while allowing for minimal normalization and establishing consistency on an item by item basis for Non-North American companies.

Available only through Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) and only to current UNC-CH faculty, students, and selected staff.

Need access? Go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu and click on “REGISTER” in the upper right corner of the page.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.

UNC-CH users with additional password

https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/
DealScan (via WRDS-LSEG)
Information on the global commercial loan market. Contains comprehensive historical information on loan pricing and contracts details, terms, and conditions. Includes terms and conditions on over 200,000 loan transactions, which finance M&A activity, working capital needs, and other general corporate purposes for loan participants worldwide. Sources include regulatory filings, bank submissions, and journalist contributions.
ETF Global
Data on Exchange Traded Funds including bid ask and close pricing, expenses, tracking indexes, assets under management, data and funds flows, historical daily holding and ownership data and more. Includes over 1900 ETFs.
more...less...
Available through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account. See box for access details.
IBES (via LSEG)
Historical earnings estimate database containing analyst estimates for over 20 forecast measures – including EPS (earnings per share), revenue, price targets, EBITDA and pre-tax profits. These measures are available on both consensus and detailed levels, covering both U.S. and international companies. Also includes buy-hold-sell recommendations. I/B/E/S = Institutional Brokers’ Estimate System.