Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Consulting Skills Frameworks - BUSI554H: Home
More Resources
- NAICS Codes2 to 6 digit number used by U.S. Federal statistical agencies to classify businesses by industry. NAICS = "North American Industry Classification System." Updated every 5 years; search for most recent code for best results.
What is in this guide?
Resources for students taking Introduction to Consulting Skills and Frameworks (ICSF), BUSI554H with Paul Friga.
- Industry Reports - including finding analyst reports.
- WRDS & More Data Sources - data & sources.
- Business Data & Statistics - more ways to find data
- Company Info - tips on finding material on public and private companies
- Find Journal articles - scholarly & trade articles in a variety of business topics
- Find U.S. News - news articles beyond a paywall. Current and older articles, including historic stock prices
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present; through ProQuest)
Industry Information Tools
- ABI/Inform CollectionArticles from academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, general business magazines.
Includes industry reports from Business Monitor International (BMI) and First Research.
- Business Source PremierCovers scholarly articles for all business subjects: marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Also includes financial data, MarketLine company profiles, Harvard Business Review articles, SWOT analyses, and more.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsDirectory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and consumers. Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company name, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc.
Notes- Create custom lists of up to 250 records that you can download to Excel
- Users are not permitted access from IP addresses outside of the United States.
- Download limit is 250 records.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. - IBISWorld Industry ReportsCovers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
- Mintel AcademicContains market research data and reports on consumer markets and products, demographics, consumer buying behavior and motivations, trends in global consumer markets. Many reports include Databooks with downloadable consumer survey data. U.S.-focused with some global coverage.
- OrbisMillions of publicly traded and privately held companies from around the world. Company records include directory facts, financial and ownership details, subsidiaries, names and titles for executives and directors, M&A deals, etc. Privately held companies do not have financial information.
Export financials to Excel. - OsirisInformation on over 110,000 publicly-traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect international accounting procedures.
Data can be exported to Excel. - StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
Data analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, business, consumer spending, marketing data from government sources, EASI Analytics, Nielsen Scarborough, and SimmonsLOCAL Consumer Insights. Export data in spreadsheet or shapefile format, and export maps as images.
Note:Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.
- How to Use SimplyAnalyticsSix short videos on using SimplyAnalytics. From Chad Boeninger at Ohio University.
KFBS Librarian
Your Librarian
News Websites
- Get free access from UNC Libraries to the New York Times. Instructions for activating your account:
- Get free access from UNC Libraries to The Washington Post.For more information, see this guide.
- Are you a student? Check out the Wall Street Journal student subscription option.
Google Scholar UNC (opens in a new window)
