Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Consulting Skills Frameworks - BUSI554H: Industry Reports

How to use LSEG

VIDEO on using Advanced Research Search (ADVRES)
4 1/2 minute video on using ADVRES command in LSEG.
You must be logged into LSEG to access video.

Industry Reports

BCC Research
Industry and market research reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
BizMiner
Find industry financial ratios, failure rates of businesses, local industry market research statistics, competitive market analysis, and more by US location (state, city, county, zip, or custom location). A great resource when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Most recent 5 years for Industry Financial Reports, most recent 3 years for Industry Market Reports, most recent year for Competitive Market Analyzer and Retail Sales per Square Foot.
GlobalData Intelligence
Reports provide analysis, forecasts, news, and data for consumer industries such as suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channels, consumer insights and trends, company market share, pricing, and more. Search the Product Launch Analytics database by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.

Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu.
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Covers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Mintel Academic
Contains market research data and reports on consumer markets and products, demographics, consumer buying behavior and motivations, trends in global consumer markets. Many reports include Databooks with downloadable consumer survey data. U.S.-focused with some global coverage.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 2001 -

Analyst Reports

LSEG Workspace
To find analyst reports (also known as sell-side, broker, or equity research reports) for a specific company,
- Type ADVRES in the search bar and select the Research Advanced Search
- Type your company name or ticker in the box at the top left
- You can filter for reports by industry, geography, contributor, keywords, and more.
Good company data also.
NOTES:
- Users must first register with their UNC email for a user account before accessing this resource. https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 has detailed directions.
- Authenticate even when on campus.
- Contact Nancy Lovas with any questions.
- 150-page daily download limit. Resets daily at 12:00 AM ET.
Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up a user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account.
Morningstar Investing Center
Covers data, analyst reports, and Morningstar ratings on stocks and mutual funds. Stock and fund screeners help identify a portfolio’s strengths and weaknesses.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).

Screen shot of accessing analyst reports from Morningstar. Click on image to enlarge.