Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Consulting Skills Frameworks - BUSI554H: Data & Statistics
General Sources for Data (Start Here)
- StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - data.census.govData.census.gov is the primary way to access data from most U.S. Census Bureau surveys and programs. Search for data tables from the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, Economics Census, annual Population Estimates, annual economic surveys, and more. Visit the Census Academy site to learn more about using this tool.
- Data USADemographic, economic, other statistical data, and data visualizations for towns, counties, states, and the United States. Export data to CSV. Uses U.S. Census and other public data.
- Social ExplorerProvides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Market Data & Mapping (demographics, spending, and/or psychographics)
- SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
- StatistaProvides statistics and survey results targeting business customers, faculty, and researchers. Includes statistics on economies, markets, and industries. Contains over one million statistics on more than 80,000 topics, covering 170 industries.
- Census Narrative Profiles (current demographics)Covers social, economic, housing and demographic data. Use "Place" for cities. From the American Community Survey.
- Census: demographic subject linksProvides subject links to demographic tables from the American Community Survey. Use "Customize Table" to specify your geographies.
- NC Dept of Commerce: area profiles and mapping (tapestries)Provides demographic and market profiles of locations with North Carolina.
- Esri Business Analyst OnlineAccess demographic, business, and consumer data for market analysis, including consumer lifestyle and buying behavior.
Note: To use Business Analyst Online, you will need to create an Organizational ArcGIS Online Account. To create an account:
1. "Sign in"
2. "Your ArcGIS organization's URL" (under ArcGIS login): unc.maps.arcgis.com
3. Click "Continue" then "UNC Chapel Hill SSO"
4. Sign in with your Onyen
For help creating an account or accessing Business Analyst, please contact one of our librarians. - PolicyMapCreate maps and tables from U.S. demographic and economic data. Does not include psychographics.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides reports and marketing data on countries, companies, markets, consumers, and cities from over 200 countries. Offers a single gateway to business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. Focuses on consumer-oriented industries.
- GlobalData IntelligenceReports provide analysis, forecasts, news, and data for consumer industries such as suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channels, consumer insights and trends, company market share, pricing, and more. Search the Product Launch Analytics database by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.
Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu. - Sage DataProvides statistics on international markets of all sorts. For help, see the user guide.
- Simmons InsightsData on adult U.S. consumers includes attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. Demographic and psychographic data.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsUse Consumers/Lifestyles data set for market research and customer discovery.
Specialized Data Centers & Sites
- Odum InstituteResearch & data center providing support for social science research. Online help & consultations available for: proposals, Qualtrics, survey research, qualitative research, quantitative research, data management, and more.
Maintains UNC Dataverse repository. - Triangle Research Data CenterPart of the Federal Statistical Research Data Center (FSRDC) program. Under this program, the Census Bureau and other agencies allows researchers with approved proposals to perform statistical analysis on non-public microdata from a variety of statistical agencies to address important research questions.
- Carolina Population CenterSix focus areas: Aging in Diverse Contexts; Inequality, Mobility, and Well-being; Links Between Health and Social and Economic Productivity; Measurement and Methods; Population, Health and Environment; and Sexuality, Reproduction, Fertility, and Families.
- Carolina Population Center Data PortalData collected by the Carolina Population Center and available to the research community.
Guides to Data & Statistics
- How to Cite DataThe purpose of citations is to enable others to find the same sources you used. Data are like any other source and should be cited in your bibliography and your writing.
- Guide to ICPSRInformation about how to download political and social science data sets.
- Census Data ResourcesGuide to (mostly online) resources for manipulating and extracting Census data.
Strategy for Finding Data & Statistics
- Strategy for Finding Statistics & Data (Accessible Version)Suggested strategies and questions to ask as you search for statistics and data for your projects.
