Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Consulting Skills Frameworks - BUSI554H: Company Research

In McColl ONLY

These resources are NOT available online; access is limited to computers in the Kenan-Flagler Business School’s Capital Markets Lab, Room 2550 in the McColl Building.

FactSet Academic Workstation
- Financial data on 70,000+ public and private companies worldwide, with historical coverage for developed markets dating back to the 1980s and for emerging markets starting in the 1990s.
- Close to 2,000 historical financial metrics data items for 70+ countries.
- Historical financial data on 5,000 global indices, as well as fixed income, commodities, alternative investments markets and more.

Because of licensing restrictions, access is limited to computers in the Kenan-Flagler Business School’s Capital Markets Lab (room 2550) in the McColl Building.

more... less...

UNC Kenan-Flagler Capital Markets Lab

Bloomberg Professional
Access to real time and historical (about 20 years) financial, economic, and political news and information covering all sectors of the world’s economy.

Because of licensing restrictions, access is limited to:
- Several computers in Kenan-Flagler’s Capital Markets Lab (room 2550) in the McColl Building
- One computer in the Technology Center (room 1130) on the first floor in the McColl Building.
- One Bloomberg terminal at UNC’s Park Library in Carroll Hall on main campus.

Historical Company Research

Mergent Archives
Comprehensive history of corporate America for almost 100 years, including corporate histories, financial statements, subsidiaries, long-term debt, and company officers and directors.

Resources include the Transportation Manual 1909-present; Public Utility Manual 1914-2007; Industrial Manual 1920-present; Bank and Finance Manual 1928-present; OTC Industrial Manual 1970-present; International Manual 1981-present; OTC Unlisted Manual 1986-present; and Municipal and Government Manual 1955-present.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Mergent Historical Annual Reports
Contains annual reports in PDF for companies in the U.S., Canada, and some European countries. Coverage varies by company. Some reports are from more than 100 years ago.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Directory of Corporate Archives USA and Canada
This includes companies that maintain their historical records themselves, as well as companies that contract with historical consulting firms to maintain their archives collections for them, and libraries that contain business records.
Annual Reports at Academic Business Libraries
This database was created and is maintained by Purdue University Libraries. It presents a merged list of the corporate annual reports held at twelve university libraries and can be searched by keyword or by university.

Value Line Research Center
Includes one-page company & industry analyses. Company reports include valuation, sales, 3-5 year projections, earnings, insider trades, ownership, and more. Reports available 1997-present.
Data can be exported to Excel .
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Most recent 3 years of quarterly reports.

Public Companies

Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
In-depth financial information on publicly-traded U.S. and international companies. Includes transactions in both public and private capital markets by a wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executives' biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. Data can be exported to Excel .

NOTE:
- Access is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
- First time? Click New User? at the top right to create an account. Use your @kenan-flagler.unc.edu email account to register
- still stuck? check these detailed instructions
more... less...

Users MUST use their @kenan-flagler.unc.edu email address when requesting an account.

Users MUST access through UNC Kenan-Flagler Research Tools & Library Resources web page. DO NOT bookmark the S&P Capital IQ login page.

Users will be required to enter their UNC onyen from both on-campus and off-campus. Then users will be able to enter their Capital IQ user id and password.

If you have any questions please contact David Ernsthausen.

Orbis
Millions of publicly traded and privately held companies from around the world. Company records include directory facts, financial and ownership details, subsidiaries, names and titles for executives and directors, M&A deals, etc. Privately held companies do not have financial information.
Export financials to Excel
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Osiris
Information on over 110,000 publicly-traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect international accounting procedures.
Data can be exported to Excel .
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1996 - present
Factiva
Click on the Companies/Markets tab in the top nav bar. Includes global company reports, limited industry reports, and market data.
Note: 5 Concurrent User Limit
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. 9,000 sources are updated on the day of publication.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.

Directory & SEC information about U.S. public companies.

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Directory information for U.S. and Canadian public companies. Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc. Data can be exported to Excel .

Notes
- Access is not permitted from IP addresses outside of the United States.
- Download limit is 250 records.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Coverage: Current information only

EDGAR
From the Securities & Exchange Commission. This site provides access to the full-text of 10-K, Proxies and other reports publicly traded companies are required to file with the SEC.

more... less...

Open Access

https://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm

Financial Data for Downloading

Need to download and analyze large sets of company or financial data? Start here.

LSEG Workspace
Source for information on publicly traded U.S. and international companies: summary financial data with links to company filings, key ratios actual and forward estimates, stock pricing data, key corporate events, officers and directors, analyst rating, ESG scores, and more. Add-on Modules available: Aftermarket Reports (AMR), Datastream, SDC Platinum.

Note: Users must first self-register with their UNC email for a user account before accessing this resource. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.
Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up a user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.
Datastream
Provides daily pricing, volume, and performance information on equities, market stock and bond indices, macroeconomic data series, foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rates, fixed income instruments, financial and commodity futures and options contracts. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals for up to 10 years or longer.

Note: Datastream is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Complete this form to request this module be added to your account: https://unc.libwizard.com/f/datastream-access. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account, self-register for an account following the instructions here: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.

Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up an LSEG Workspace user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.

Datastream Access Policy:
Datastream for Faculty: Access is limited to 60 days, renewable upon request. No download limits.
Datastream for Students: Access is limited to 1 semester and resets in December and May each year. Renewable upon request.
SDC Platinum
Provides detailed information on new issues, mergers and acquisitions, syndicated loans, and private equity for the global financial marketplace.

Note: SDC Platinum is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Complete this form to request this module be added to your account: https://unc.libwizard.com/f/sdc-platinum-access. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account, self-register for an account following the instructions here: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.
Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up an LSEG Workspace user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.

Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
In-depth financial information on publicly-traded companies and investment firms. Includes transactions in both public and private capital markets by a wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executives' biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. Data can be exported to Excel .

NOTE:
- Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
more... less...

Users MUST use their @kenan-flagler.unc.edu email address when requesting an account.

Users MUST access through UNC Kenan-Flagler Research Tools & Library Resources web page. DO NOT bookmark the S&P Capital IQ login page.

Users will be required to enter their UNC onyen from both on-campus and off-campus. Then users will be able to enter their Capital IQ user id and password.

If you have any questions please contact David Ernsthausen.
COMPUSTAT Global
Annual and quarterly financial and market data for hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts. Covers publicly traded companies. Data sets have been designed to reflect the varieties of actual reporting practices used across the globe, while allowing for minimal normalization and establishing consistency on an item by item basis for Non-North American companies.

Available only through Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) and only to current UNC-CH faculty, students, and selected staff.

Need access? Go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu and click on “REGISTER” in the upper right corner of the page.

more... less...

To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.

UNC-CH users with additional password

https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/

Value Line Research Center
Investment research covering thousands of stocks, mutual funds, daily options, and convertible issues. Includes one-page company & industry analyses. Company reports include valuation, sales, 3-5 year projections, earnings, insider trades, ownership, and more.
Data can be exported to Excel .

Stumped? Help files at Value Line: How to Search from Baruch College.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Most recent 3 years of quarterly reports.

Non-U.S. Companies

Resources exclusively for non-U.S. companies

SEDAR
Official site that provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by Canadian public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system. SEDAR is a rough equivalent to the SEC’s EDGAR files but it is for Canadian companies.

more... less...

Open Access

https://www.sedar.com/
EuroPages
Find information on some 3 million companies in 35 European countries. Search by company name, industry, country, or region of country. Each entry includes addresses, phone numbers, maybe an email contact, maybe a map of the location. You must select one of 26 languages before searching.

more... less...

Open Access

https://www.europages.com/

Contact Us

Need help? Contact the Libraries using the form on our Contact Us page.