Physician Assistant Studies Resources: Military & Veteran Mental Health
Created by Health Science Librarians
Military & Veteran Health Research
Although this page was originally designed specifically for researching military and veterans mental health topics, many of these resources can be used to research other military and veterans health topics and, in some cases, more general military and veterans topics.
Researching Military Mental Health Topics
- Military & Government CollectionDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this resource indexes periodicals, academic journals, and pamphlets relevant to military studies.
Note: Minimum browser requirements: Explorer 5.5, Firefox 1.0, Netscape 7.x, Safari 1.2x
- ProQuest Military DatabaseArticles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
- PTSDpubsVia ProQuest: PTSDpubs database (formerly PILOTS) is a freely available, online database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD at the US Department of Veterans Affairs.
- PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) via VA.gov National Center for PTSDVia VA.gov includes additional information about the database and an FAQ tab with information to aid in use. PTSDpubs database (formerly PILOTS) is a freely available, online database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD at the US Department of Veterans Affairs. .
- Veterans and Military Health Resource Guide (Georgetown University Dahlgren Memorial Library)Lists military relevant terms to consider in searching common databases. Note that UNC provides access to PubMed Medline (not OVID Medline) and that you will need to connect to each database listed via the UNC Libraries website.
Defense Technical Information Center/DTIC
- Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)The central resource for DoD- and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business related information for the DoD community.
- DTIC Products & Services Page• Products & Services page includes access to:
o DTIC Publicly Available Collections
o Access-Controlled Collections requiring DoD-issued CAC, PIV card, or ECA.
o DTIC Thesaurus
- A few search hints and examples for using the DTIC Thesaurus -
The Thesaurus provides a broad, multi-disciplinary subject-term vocabulary that aids in information search and retrieval. Subject terms, called Descriptors, are organized into hierarchies, where series of narrower terms are linked to broader terms.
o BT=broader term; NT=narrower term
o Hazing: BT=Violence
o Violence: NT=Hazing
o MILITARY FORCES (UNITED STATES)
UF ARMED FORCES (UNITED STATES)
BT MILITARY ORGANIZATIONS
NT AIR FORCE
NT ARMY
NT COAST GUARD
NT MARINE CORPS
NT NAVY
NT SPACE FORCE
NT SPECIAL OPERATIONS FORCES
NT UNIFIED COMBATANT COMMANDS
NT UNIT TYPE CODES
• Subject categories: Behavioral and Social Sciences (5): https://discover.dtic.mil/thesaurus/subject-categories/05behavioral/
- Peace, War, & Defense Databases (e-research by discipline from UNC University Libraries)Additional, potentially relevant databases depending upon your topic.
Some resources for government statistics on military participation, veterans, and drug use in the armed forces:
Browse or search the following for topic ideas:
A Few Relevant Journals Available via UNC University Libraries (remember that you can use our free InterLibrary Loan service for articles, books, and other materials that we do not own). In addition to your usual counseling, psychology, and behavioral health journal, consider these, depending upon your topic:
- Armed Forces & Society
- BMJ Military Health
- Disaster & Military Medicine
- Journal of Military Ethics
- Journal of Military & Strategic Studies
- Journal of Military & Veterans Health (Australia)
- Journal of Military Social Work and Behavioral Health Services [formerly known as Military Behavioral Health (2013 - 2023)]
- Journal of Political & Military Sociology
- Military Medicine
- Military Psychology
- Military Review
- Military Telemedicine On-Line Today, 'Research, Practice, and Opportunities'., Proceedings of the National Forum
Selected additional, specialized journals with content related to psychological trauma to consider, depending upon your topic:
- European Journal of Trauma & Dissociation (French & English)
- Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation
- Journal of Loss & Trauma
- Psychological Trauma
- Trauma (London, England)
- Trauma Care (Basel)
- Trauma, Violence, & Abuse
Additional Resources
- Naval War College Psychological Health Awareness ResourcesThis Guide provides links to sources related to problems faced by returning troops, research being done to understand/treat war-related psychological issues, and efforts being made for veterans so they can cope with stress and adapting to civilian life. Note: Links to licensed resources (not open access) should be searched on the UNC Libraries website and, if not available, ordered via InterLibrary Loan.