AM Primary Sources: United States History

This collection focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural, and religious arenas; coverage is predominantly in Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina. It includes pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, official records and oral histories regarding integration, civil rights, and other subjects.

A collection of primary sources documenting popular culture in the second half of the 19th century and in the early 20th century, primarily in Great Britain but also in the United States. The four modules of this collection are: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.

This collection focuses on European maritime exploration from the voyages of Vasco da Gama and Christopher Columbus, through the age of discovery, to the eventual discovery of the Northwest and Northeast Passages, and the race for the Poles. Coverage is from 1410-1920 and includes ships' logs and journals, correspondence and travel accounts, and an interactive map with in-depth visualisation of over 50 voyages.

This collection covers the many facets of American involvement in World War Two, from 1939-1949. American military and civilian involvement in all major theatres of operations is represented, and include oral history video interviews, personal letters, diaries, photographs, and military records.

This collection contains documents of colonial history, the revolutionary era, and the early days of the United States up to the fierce debates that led to the Civil War. Highlights include Columbus’s description of his voyage, annotated first-draft printings of the Constitution, political correspondence, and Frederick Douglass’s writings to his former master.

This collection includes letters, diaries and documents from the Civil War, alongside images, newspapers, and magazines from the war. It also includes presidential correspondence, and documents on the rise of industrial America, the Ku Klux Klan, and World War II.

American Indian Newspapers offers the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Collection documenting westward expansion in American through books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and other artifacts from the early 18th to the mid 20th century.

Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence of the colonial governments with the British govenment, specifically the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.

Covers 500 years of the rise and fall of empires, this features a wide variety of material, including exploration journals & logs; correspondence; periodicals; diaries; government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; memoirs; fiction; children's adventure stories; folk tales; exhibition catalogs; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and illustrations, with many in color.

Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920 comprises thousands of fully searchable images of rare books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Material is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasising contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. The three available modules are: Personal Experiences, Propaganda & Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.

British Government documents dealing with Japan in the interwar period, during Word War II and during subsequent American occupation. Sourced from the FO 371 and FO 262 series at The National Archives, UK, in addition to a selection of FO 371 Far Eastern General sub-series, and Western and American Department papers.

This collection covers settlements across North America, Africa, Australia, and New Zealand from 1650-1920. It includes documents on the creation of new states, trade networks, and movements of people alongside the marginalisation and decline of indigenous peoples.Highlights include expedition records, gold rush materials, and the journals of the Lewis and Clark expedition.

Access market research reports and supporting documents for mid-20th century U.S. by consumer analyst Ernest Dichter.

Primary sources documenting the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia, concentrating on the 19th and 20th centuries, and dealing with immigration, refugees, labor migration, immigration politics, religious, ethnic and community relations, and responses to emigration from local and indigenous communities. Includes personal accounts, oral histories, correspondence, printed books, pamphlets, leaflets, reports, shipping papers, logbooks and plans, photographs, maps, and ephemera.

Primary sources on social protest, student activism, counterculture, and women's liberation against the backdrop of the civil rights movement, the Vietnam conflict and the growth of the consumer society.

The Race Relations Department, based at Fisk University, was a highly influential think tank offering a forum for discussion and research on racial topics. The work of the Department highlighted topics such as poverty and inequality, class, housing, employment, education and government policy. Its program attracted many well-known figures in the Civil Rights Movement, including Thurgood Marshall, Martin Luther King Jr., Bayard Rustin, Charles Houston, and Marguerite Cartwright.

This resource sheds light on the fascinating work of the Department through the digitization of extensive records from the Department's archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.

This collection contains both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theaters around the world. Publications are included from the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines.

Designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, brings together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

British and Commonwealth perspectives on the Nixon presidency though FCO 7 and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, UK.

A collection of trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera tracing the rise of the ‘American dream’ and evolution of commerce throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries (1850-1950). The content is sourced from three collections of trade literature in America: the Lawrence B. Romaine collection at UC Santa Barbara, the Hagley Museum and Library and the Winterthur Library.

Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University, 1835-1976.

Papers and records of the Virginia Company of London documenting the development of the Colony of Virginia and colonization of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas, 1890-1790.

Primary source materials on over 200 World's fairs, from the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations at the Crystal Palace in London (1851) through the 20th century, focusing on Northern European, North American, Australian and East Asian expositions.