Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

AM Primary Sources: Full List of AM Resources

Adam Matthew Primary Sources

Africa and the New Imperialism
Primary source collection on European colonial expansion across the African continent, 1870-1914, sourced primarily from British and French archives and libraries. Primary Sources ; AM ; Region - Africa ; Time Period - 19th Century ; Time Period - 20th Century Time Period - 19th Century
Coverage:1870 - 1914
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
African American Communities
This collection focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural, and religious arenas; coverage is predominantly in Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina. It includes pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, official records and oral histories regarding integration, civil rights, and other subjects.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Age of Exploration
This collection focuses on European maritime exploration from the voyages of Vasco da Gama and Christopher Columbus, through the age of discovery, to the eventual discovery of the Northwest and Northeast Passages, and the race for the Poles. Coverage is from 1410-1920 and includes ships' logs and journals, correspondence and travel accounts, and an interactive map with in-depth visualisation of over 50 voyages.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
America in World War II: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts
This collection covers the many facets of American involvement in World War Two, from 1939-1949. American military and civilian involvement in all major theatres of operations is represented, and include oral history video interviews, personal letters, diaries, photographs, and military records.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

American History: 1493-1945
Coverage from 1493-1859 contains documents of colonial history, the revolutionary era, and the early days of the United States up to the fierce debates that led to the Civil War. Highlights include Columbus’s description of his voyage, annotated first-draft printings of the Constitution, political correspondence, and Frederick Douglass’s writings. The 1860-1945 collection includes letters, diaries and documents from the Civil War, alongside images, newspapers, and magazines from the war. It also includes presidential correspondence, and documents on the rise of industrial America, the Ku Klux Klan, and World War II.

American West
Collection documenting westward expansion in American through books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and other artifacts from the early 18th to the mid 20th century.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Apartheid South Africa 1948-1980
Primary source collection from The National Archives, UK for the study of the apartheid, South African politics, trade relations, international opinion and humanitarian issues. Includes diplomatic dispatches, institutional records, biographies of prominent personalities, press reports, correspondence, books, maps, statistics, reports, analyses, and ephemera.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Children's Literature and Culture
Primary source materials on children’s literature and print culture from the Children’s Literature and Graphic Arts collections held by the American Antiquarian Society. The collection, covering 1810s-1920s, focuses on the output of New York publisher McLoughlin Bros and competitors such as Fisher & Brother and E.P. Dutton, but also includes publications from a selection of European publishers. In addition to books, the collection includes religious tracts, original artwork, photographs, sheet music, exemplars of games and toys, as well as archival materials dealing with the operations of McLoughlin Bros.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
China, America and the Pacific: Trade & Cultural Exchange
The primary source explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Content types collected in the datbase include ship logs, diaries, correspondence, account books, other shipping and commercial company records, catalogs of trade goods, and other records of prices.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
China: Culture and Society
This database contains rarely seen pamphlets from the Wason Pamphlet Collection at Cornell University. These pamphlets published between c.1750 and 1929 make up one of the most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world. Types of material include speeches, annual reports, catalogues, guides, lecture notes, letters, magazine, and more.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
China: Trade, Politics, and Culture, 1793-1980
Offers rich English-language sources relating to China and the West for the period of 1793-1980. Based on sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London, the database includes disparate sources from visual images to papers of missionaries to records of diplomatic envoys that reflect Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Church Missionary Society Periodicals
Publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society (1804-2009), consisiting of two modules: Global Missions and Contemporary Encounters: 1804-2009 and Medical Journals, Asian Missions And The Historical Record, 1816-1986. Includes the Church Missionary Gleaner (later called Yes Magazine), the South American Missionary Magazine, Ruanda Notes, Register of Missionaries, as well as other journals, reports, correspondence and ephemera dealing with mission history, evangelism, colonialism and globalisation across the globe, with a focus on Africa, China, and Japan.

Colonial America
Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence of the colonial governments with the British govenment, specifically the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, together holding responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Colonial Caribbean: CO Files from The National Archives, UK
This digital resource covers three centuries of Caribbean history. Drawn from the vast archives of the British Colonial Office, this resource includes material for all students and researchers of the Caribbean and British colonial rule.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
Provides scholars with unprecedented electronic access to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This resource provides researchers with a searchable collection of scores of official documents covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonisation of Africa. The early stages of imperial expansion and indigenous resistance in the interior of western and southern Africa, the European scramble for the continent in the late nineteenth century and the expansion of settler colonialism in southern and eastern Africa are all covered.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
"This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict."
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Defining Gender 1450-1910: Five Centuries of Advice Literature Online
Primary source documents relating to gender from British archives; includes archival documents, essays, biographies and an interactive chronology.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1450-1910
Early Modern England: Society, Culture & Everyday Life, 1500-1700
Primary sources materials documenting the lived experience in England from 1500-1700. The material is sourced from the following libraries and archives: the British Library, Canterbury Cathedral Archives, Lambeth Palace Library, London Metropolitan Archives, the National Archives UK, the Newberry Library and the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. Materials range from legal records, to family correspondence, administrative records, wills, inventories, and commonplace books, and also include images of everyday objects used in early modern households.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
East India Company
India Office Records from the British Library, London, containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other primary sources documenting the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947. Includes Factory Records for South Asia, South-East Asia, China, Japan, and the Middle East.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship, Society And The Stage
Comprises primary source documents from the collection of John Larpent, the English Inspector of Plays from 1778-1824, including more than 2,500 plays. Also includes the diaries of Anna Larpent, his professional collaborator and wife, recording her criticisms of the plays and insights into the theatrical culture of the time. The companion text The London Stage, 1660-1800, listing every traceable performance, is included as a searchable database, as is A Biographical Dictionary of Actors etc. 1660-1800. Useful for researching such topics as censorship and politics; satire and social commentary; celebrity culture; fashion; the rise of opera in Britain; women and theatre; staging, technology, and performance practice; and the business of theatre.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Eighteenth Century Journals
Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Empire Online
Covers 500 years of the rise and fall of empires, this features a wide variety of material, including exploration journals & logs; correspondence; periodicals; diaries; government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; memoirs; fiction; children's adventure stories; folk tales; exhibition catalogs; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and illustrations, with many in color.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Primary source material from more than sixty collections of field research by prominent ethnomusicologists. The database mostly comprises recordings, but also including field notes, photographs, videos, interviews, and ephemera, digitized by the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the University of Washington Ethnomusicology Archive. Includes material from Africa; Australia and the Pacific Islands; Central, East, Southeast, and South Asia; Europe; the Middle East; and the Americas.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920
Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920 comprises thousands of fully searchable images of rare books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Material is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasising contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

First Folios Compared: Open Access
This collection features 47 digitized First Folios from 23 locations. The gathering and unifying of a collected set of metadata tags unlocks unprecedented searchability functions, while a new split screen viewer enables side-by-side digital comparison of the unique texts.

First World War
Showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. The three available modules are: Personal Experiences, Propaganda & Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Food and Drink in History
Primary source collection consisting of printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government documents, marketing reports, films and illustrated content from around the globe documenting the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere (1514-1980). Highlights of Module I include the cookbook collections from the University of California San Diego and Michigan State University, with a focus on Mexican, Latin American, Pacific Rim, Chinese early Californian, African and Asian cuisine.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980
From the British National Archives, this digital collection consists of British Foreign Office (FO) files covering the period 1949-1980. It addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the Peoples Republic in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao Zedong, the arrest of the Gang of Four, and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976.

These files, combining eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to examine developments in China and to assess US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1949 onwards.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Collection of files from Great Britain's Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focusing on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, as well as frontier regions such as Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952
British Government documents dealing with Japan in the interwar period, during Word War II and during subsequent American occupation. Sourced from the FO 371 and FO 262 series at The National Archives, UK, in addition to a selection of FO 371 Far Eastern General sub-series, and Western and American Department papers.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Foreign Office files for Southeast Asia, 1963-1980
Foreign Office files for Southeast Asia, 1963-1980, sourced from the following material classes from the National Archives, UK: FO 371, FCO 15, FCO 24, DO 169, DO 187. Highlights include materials on the Cobbold Commission, the end of the Malayan Emergency and tensions between Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as rising animosity towards the perceived threat of communism at this time.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
Collection of files from Great Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office providing in-depth analyses, annual reviews, ministerial minutes, personality profiles and correspondence regarding conflicts, arms sales and the UK's commercial interest in the Middle East.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Frontier Life: Borderland and Colonial Encounters
This collection covers settlements across North America, Africa, Australia, and New Zealand from 1650-1920. It includes documents on the creation of new states, trade networks, and movements of people alongside the marginalisation and decline of indigenous peoples.Highlights include expedition records, gold rush materials, and the journals of the Lewis and Clark expedition.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Primary source materials on gender history from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia from the 19th to the 21st century. Includes feminist pamphlets and ephemera, diaries and correspondence, business and legal records, advice literature and etiquette books, photographs, and ephemera.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Global Commodities
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
India, Raj and Empire
From the South Asian manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this resource documents the history of South Asia in the 17th-19th centuries through journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
American Indian Newspapers offers the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising in America
Documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Based on original manuscript collections from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Covers a wide range of dates and topics related to Jewish history in the US, from Early Jewish Settlements in the US through the Civil Rights Movement of the mid-20th Century.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Mass Tourism
A primary source collection dealing with the evolution of European and American working class tourism between 1850 and 1980s. Includes guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals that provide insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Literary Manuscripts: Berg Collection
19th century manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature, New York Public Library.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Literary Manuscripts: Brotherton Library
17th and 18th century manuscripts from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive
Sourced from the archive of The Worshipful Company of Stationers & Newspaper Makers (London), this primary source collection offers insight into the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions, and the history of bookbinding, from 1554 to the 21st century.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
London Low Life
Primary sources on the social history of 19th century London, sourced from Lilly Library, Indiana University.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
Access market research reports and supporting documents for mid-20th century U.S. by consumer analyst Ernest Dichter.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Mass Observation Online
Archive of Mass Observation, the pioneering social research organization that studied the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain from 1937 to 1950s. Archive includes materials collected by investigators (thematic studies through raw data, surveys, and covert observation) and materials submitted by volunteers (diaries and other personal writing).
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Mass Observation Project
The Mass Observation Project, coordinated by the University of Sussex since 1981, is a national life writing project about everyday life in Britain that captures the experiences, thoughts and opinions of everyday people, and serves as one of the major repositories of longitudinal qualitative social data in the UK.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Medical Services and Warfare
Period Covered: 1850 to 1949 This collection focuses on the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the First World War, and the Second World War among other conflicts. The impact on medicine during peacetime is also charted, notably through documents relating to the influenza epidemic of 1918 and post-war rehabilitation. Includes hospital reports and registers, correspondence, memoirs and diaries, printed books and periodicals, photographs, maps, other illustrative material and ephemera.

Medieval Family Life
Five major family letter collections from the 15th century England: Paston Family Papers, Cely Family Papers, Plumpton Correspondence, Stonor Correspondence and Amburgh Family Papers.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Medieval Travel Writing
Provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages. Included are translations and supporting materials (all of which are fully searchable); maps showing the routes of the travelers; introductory essays by leading scholars.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Meiji Japan
The database contains manuscripts for the study of Japan Meiji society, culture, ethnology, and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925). The arrangement of the collection consists of fifteen series: Correspondence; Diaries; Scrapbooks; Natural History; Archaeology Field Work; Ethnology; Japanese Pottery; Lectures; Publications; Inventions; Materials Collected by Morse; Financial Records; Noise Abatement; Biographical and Personal; and Miscellaneous.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Migration to New Worlds
Primary sources documenting the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia, concentrating on the 19th and 20th centuries, and dealing with immigration, refugees, labor migration, immigration politics, religious, ethnic and community relations, and responses to emigration from local and indigenous communities. Includes personal accounts, oral histories, correspondence, printed books, pamphlets, leaflets, reports, shipping papers, logbooks and plans, photographs, maps, and ephemera.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Nineteenth Century Literary Society
Primary source materials from the archive of the John Murray publishing company, held at the National Library of Scotland, from its inception in 1786 through the long nineteenth century. A highlight of the collection are the manuscripts and personal papers of Lord Byron.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers 1500-1700
Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isles from 1500-1700. Contents include account books, advice, meditations, receipts, travel writing, and verse. Perdita manuscripts can be searched by name, genre, and first lines of both poetry and prose.

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Primary sources on social protest, student activism, counterculture, and women's liberation against the backdrop of the civil rights movement, the Vietnam conflict and the growth of the consumer society.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
Collection of primary source documents from advertising and other popular press images demonstrating the history of popular remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America; including contemporary trends such as phrenology, herbal medicines, hydrotherapy, other folk medicines, early dentistry, pharmaceutical production and drug sales materials, and more. Images and research drawn from the collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain
Primary source materials exploring the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early twentieth-century British society, and demonstrating a shift in welfare reform, and the social tensions surrounding poverty and public welfare. Materials are sourced from the National Archives at Kew, the British Library and Senate House Library.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Race Relations in America: Surveys and Papers from the Amistad Research Center, 1943-1970
The Race Relations Department, based at Fisk University, was a highly influential think tank offering a forum for discussion and research on racial topics. The work of the Department highlighted topics such as poverty and inequality, class, housing, employment, education and government policy. Its program attracted many well-known figures in the Civil Rights Movement, including Thurgood Marshall, Martin Luther King Jr., Bayard Rustin, Charles Houston, and Marguerite Cartwright.

This resource sheds light on the fascinating work of the Department through the digitization of extensive records from the Department's archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Manuscript collection of William Wordsworth and other Romantic poets, writers and artists. Includes notebooks, diaries, correspondence, travel journals and autograph books.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Service Newspapers of World War II
This collection contains both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theaters around the world. Publications are included from the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Sex & Sexuality : Research Collections from the Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections
Primary sources (research files, correspondence, newsletters, reports, pamphlets, and ephemera) on sexology and changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender, and sexual behaviors from the Kinsey Institute (1939-1990s). Covers advances in public health, biology, psychology, sociology and other social sciences disciplines.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Shakespeare in Performance: The Folger Shakespeare Library Prompt Books
This resource features the prompt book collection from the Folger Shakespeare Library, covering productions from the 1670s to the 1970s. Includes digitized production scripts for most of Shakespeare’s plays, showcasing personal notes, cues for lighting, illustrations of sets and costume design, and notes on music and acting. Also includes photographs, musical scores, correspondence, and ephemera. Certain historic performances have been selected as case studies including David Garrick’s revised 1772 production of Hamlet, Henry Irving’s famous 1879 production of ¬The Merchant of Venice, and Laurence Olivier’s Academy Award-winning cinema release of Hamlet in 1948.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Shakespeare's Globe Archive
Documenting over 300 productions from 1997-2016, this digital collection documents architectural plans, costume designs and wardrobe notes, prompt books, photographs, and programs, of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. Includes early modern and contemporary musical scores, oral histories on the genesis of the reconstruction project, materials on marketing, publicity, context, and front-of-the-house responses by audiences. Video interviews and essays from key figures are also included.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, brings together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Socialism on film : The Cold War and International Propaganda
Socialism on Film is a collection of documentaries, newsreels and features from Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, sourced from the British Film Institute, and covering the period from the Russian Revolution to the 1980s. The collection consists of films produced almost exclusively in the communist world and later versioned into English for distribution in the West.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
The Grand Tour
Travel writing, diaires and correspondence by British men and women from their journeys through Europe, 1550-1850.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
British and Commonwealth perspectives on the Nixon presidency though FCO 7 and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, UK.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home
A collection of trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera tracing the rise of the ‘American dream’ and evolution of commerce throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries (1850-1950). The content is sourced from three collections of trade literature in America: the Lawrence B. Romaine collection at UC Santa Barbara, the Hagley Museum and Library and the Winterthur Library.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University, 1835-1976.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Victorian Popular Culture
A collection of primary sources documenting popular culture in the second half of the 19th century and in the early 20th century, primarily in Great Britain but also in the United States. The four modules of this collection are: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Virginia Company Archives
Papers and records of the Virginia Company of London documenting the development of the Colony of Virginia and colonization of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas, 1890-1790.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Women in The National Archives
A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives and original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions
Primary source materials on over 200 World's fairs, from the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations at the Crystal Palace in London (1851) through the 20th century, focusing on Northern European, North American, Australian and East Asian expositions.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

American Consumer Culture
Cross-searchable access to essential primary sources for the study of market research, consumerism, business and advertising in America.