Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

North Carolina Courts, Cases, and Rules

Information and resources regarding North Carolina Courts

NC Case Opinions

Introduction

Some courts in North Carolina issue written court opinions in cases.  These can be found online for some courts, such as the NC Supreme Court, the NC Court of Appeals, and the NC Business Court.  These case opinions are available on free websites and on subscription databases.

North Carolina Courts Website

Appellate Court Opinions on NCCourts.gov Opinions for the NC Supreme Court and the NC Court of Appeals are available on the North Carolina Courts website.  Attorneys and/or parties can sign up to receive email notifications for new opinions.  Coverage beings in 1998 for these opinions.  Users can search by keyword, author, date, court type, opinion type, format, or browse starting with the most recent opinions.

Business Court Opinions on NCCourts.gov Opinions for the NC Business Court are available on the North Carolina Courts website.  Coverage beings in 1996 for these opinions.  Users can search opinions by keyword, author, date, and county.

PDF Volumes of Case Reporters on NCCourts.gov PDF Volumes of the North Carolina Reports (N.C.), which contain opinions from the NC Supreme Court, are available on the NC Courts website, starting with Volume 1.  PDF Volumes of the North Carolina Court of Appeals Reports (N.C. App.) are also available, starting with Volume 1.  These contain the official pagination for case citations.

Advanced Sheets on NCCourts.gov Advance Sheets are also available on the NC Courts website.  Advance sheets are slip opinions from the NC Supreme Court and NC Court of Appeals released prior to the bound volumes of the case reporters.  They contain headnotes, finding aids, and citations to the official North Carolina Reports.

Subscription Databases

Subscription databases have NC court opinions available. These databases have additional tools, such as citators and editorial commentary, and information to assist users with their research.

Bloomberg Law Bloomberg Law has NC opinions from the NC Supreme Court (1778-current), NC Court of Appeals (1968-current), and the NC Business Court (2005-current).

Lexis Advance In its NC Cases database, Lexis Advance has opinions from the NC Supreme Court (1778-present), NC Court of Appeals (1968-present), and the NC Business Court (1996-present).

Westlaw Edge In its NC State Cases database, Westlaw edge has opinions from the NC Supreme Court (1778-present) and NC Court of Appeals (1968-present).

Lower Cost Options

Google Scholar Google Scholar has opinions from the NC Supreme Court and NC Court of Appeals available for free.  Users can select case law and the specific courts to run searches within.  Users can run advanced searches as well by selecting the advanced search function.

Fastcase Fastcase is available for attorneys that are members of the North Carolina Bar Association.  NC Supreme Court and NC Court of Appeals opinions are available in the North Carolina case database.

Casetext Casetext has NC Supreme Court and NC Court of Appeals opinions available.