China Studies: Books, Articles & Databases
Articles + Catalog
Searchable using Chinese as well as a romanized script for Chinese resources.
- All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Chinese scripts. If your item is not available at UNC, try TRLN (Triangle Research Libraries Network). Search TRLN provides a single search interface to the TRLN Libraries' Collections.
- If it is not within the libraries of TRLN, try Worldcat. Worldcat is a world-wide catalog of books, articles, visual materials, etc.
Access Information
On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC-Chapel Hill ITS.
UNC Hospitals Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Note: UpToDate is available within EPIC.
Off Campus Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.
Duxiu Books - 读秀中文学术搜索 （图书）
Other Online Resources
China (Mainland)
- Paper RepublicChinese literature in translation resources and discussion.
Taiwan
- 國立臺灣師範大學機構典藏National Taiwan Normal University Institutional Dispository
- 臺灣大學學術期刊資料庫National Taiwan University Journal Database
- 臺灣語言學期刊Taiwan Journal of Linguistics
Hong Kong
Other Areas
English Databases/e-journals
Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980From the British National Archives, this digital collection consists of British Foreign Office (FO) files covering the period 1949-1980. It addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the Peoples Republic in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao Zedong, the arrest of the Gang of Four, and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976.
These files, combining eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to examine developments in China and to assess US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1949 onwards. - Country Studies/Area Handbooks (Library of Congress)Contains the online versions of books previously published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusCreated by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
- Sunday Times (London) Digital ArchivePublished since 1822, a rich complement to the Times (London) Digital Archive.
- H-BuddhismH-Buddhism serves as a medium for the exchange of information regarding academic resources, new research projects, scholarly publications, university job listings, and so forth, for specialists in Buddhist Studies who are currently affiliated with academic institutions
- Resources for East Asian Language and ThoughtResources for East Asian Language and Thought by A. Charles Muller, Faculty of Letters, University of Tokyo
- Six Chinese ClassicsAnalects of Confucius 論語
• Great Learning 大學
• Doctrine of the Mean 中庸
• Mencius 孟子
• Daode jing 道德經
• Zhuangzi (Chapter One) 莊子
Chinese Databases
Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.
- China Statistical Database (中国国家统计数据库)Produced by the 中华人民共和国国家统计局 (National Bureau of Statistics of China). It provides extensive national statistical data from mid-1990s to present. Though dataset coverage varies, national, provincial, county, and city level data can be accessed by year, quarter and month. Information on China's statistical standards, classifications and methods, laws and regulations are included on the website, as are built-in data visualization tools for analyzing the statistics.
Note: For best user experience, please use IE9 or above. Users can view datasets online, but an account sign up is required for downloading data. - China Academic Journals (中国学术期刊)CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world covering all subjects. As of 2015 this database provides access to nearly 10K academic journals with a total article count >50M.
Note: This resource is best used with Internet Explorer.
We have full PDF access to the Social Sciences and Humanities series. Articles in the CNKI databases are in PDF format. You will need a current version of Adobe Reader. - Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (中国文化大革命文库)The most comprehensive source covering primary sources on the Chinese Cultural Revolution. The database contains more than 10,000 Central Party documents, Communist party leaders' speeches, official newspaper articles from the early 1960s to the late 1970s, selections of some of the key Red Guard texts, and hard-to-reach archives that often buried within diverse Chinese newspapers many of which are not publicly available The database is updated annually.
- Taiwan Chinese Electronic Theses & Dissertations Service. 台灣中文電子學位論文服務The CETD database provides full text access to Chinese language doctoral dissertations and master theses from 46 major universities in Taiwan from 2004 to present. The database covers 113,993 citations and 78,357 full-text theses and dissertations. Subjects, keywords, and abstracts are in both Chinese and English.
Special Instructions for Patrons:To search theses or dissertations, at the Airiti library home page, directly type in your search term in the search bar. Select 'Theses' on the results page to filter by electronic theses/dissertations. Alternatively, use 'Advanced Search' (at the upper left corner) to search for theses. - Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (台灣電子期刊服務網)TEPS provides full text access to more than 900 academic journals published in Taiwan from 1991 to the present. It covers disciplines in humanities, social science, natural science, applied science, medical & life science.
- Duxiu Knowledge Search (读秀中文学术搜索)Provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, journal articles, conference papers and video clips. Duxiu covers Chinese publications from the early the 1930s to the present. New contents are added monthly. End users receive contents through online requests. Contents are delivered electronically to end users' specified email account within 2 hours. Please note that depending upon different publications' copyright restrictions, not all resources found in Duxiu have the same level of content access. For instance, the preview of chapters, table of contents and contents may vary from title to title.
- Shen Bao (申报) 1872–1949Shen Bao (申报) is one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. It is the most influential and longest running commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China. Shen Bao was founded by Ernest Major, a British businessman, in 1872. From 1872 to its ceasing publication in 1949, Shen Bao published a total of 256,000 issues. Known for its rich news reporting, commentary and advertisement, Shen Bao played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the late 19th century and Republic Era.
Note: To access contents, click the document delivery icon and fill out the request form. Each request can not exceed 20% of the entire content. Depending upon Internet traffic, the delivery time ranges from 10 minutes to 2 hours. - Chinese Text Project (中國哲學書電子化計劃)A web-based e-text system designed to present a comprehensive collection of ancient Chinese texts, particularly those relating to Chinese philosophy, in a well-structured and properly cross-referenced manner, making the most of the electronic medium to aid in the study and understanding of these texts. Text scope spans pre-Qin and Han works covering topics in Confucianism to mathematics, to post-Han classics and Republican era works.
- Hytung Chinese Periodicals Database (瀚堂近代报刊数据库) 1792-1949The database covers over 20,000 Chinese newspapers and magazines printed in the late Qing and early republican period, (1792 to 1949). It includes major newspapers such as Shanghai Shen Bo 上海《申報》, Tianjin Ta Kung Pao 天津《大公報》and I-Shih Pao 《益世報》, etc
Note: Limited to 2 simultaneous users - Hytung Chinese Classical Book Database (瀚堂典藏古籍数据库)Hytung Ancient Books database contains a large volume of Chinese classics and archaeological materials with over 1 billion characters and 5 million book images, in subjects, such as, Chinese dictionaries, history, etymologies, literature, archaeological writings, etc., .many of which are unique to this database. The database is full-text searchable with both traditional and simplified Chinese character.
Note: Limited to 2 simultaneous users
Connect with us
