Digital exhibits and/or archives present artifacts in a digital environment and put them in conversation with one another, in the light of a particular argument or theme.
Learning objectives are clearly defined statements of expected goals and outcomes from the student perspective. When a student finishes an activity or a lesson, what will they know, articulate, or be able to do?
Every digital pedagogy project should have learning objectives. Here are a few tips for creating student-centered objectives:
Getting started: try Bloom's Taxonomy Action Verbs for sample action verbs to use in learning objectives.
Students will be able to...
- produce a visual analysis of a collection of postcards, including relevant metadata, and display their critique in conversation with historical documents
- communicate their complex historical research in an exhibit to a broad audience.
Wilson Library Special Collections - UNC Chapel Hill's Wilson Library houses five special collections that are open to UNC affiliates. Special collections librarians regularly collaborate with classes to work with collections that include print materials, multimedia resources, and more.
Omeka - an open source online platform for creating exhibits that supports extensive metadata.
Scalar - a free, open-source multimodal publishing platform that supports non-linear pathways and interlinked elements.
WordPress - a user-friendly website publishing platform.
UNC affiliates can create WordPress sites for free by logging in to web.unc.edu with their ONYEN and password.
Google Sites - a user-friendly website publishing platform (free with a Google account)
Dublin Core and Metadata Standards - Using standardized metadata (data about data, or the information about your artifacts) will help describe your collections and create a robust digital exhibit or archive.
Icon "archive" by iconcheese from the Noun Project
To get started with digital pedagogy and lesson planning after exploring this guide, contact Sarah Morris (firstname.lastname@example.org or (919) 962-2094).
Table of Contents