Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
CHEM 101L & 102L: Home
A resource for the general chemistry laboratory course which includes chemistry references, lab safety information and instructional videos.
Scientific Literature
If you don't have a SciFinder account, register here.
-
SciFindernTool for scientist, contains information on chemical reactions, substances and references. Information on organic and inorganic substances and sequences. Broad range of scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science
-
REAXYSA search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Site interface allows search for chemicals by keyword and provides in depth detail for results. Reaxys integrates content from three major data sources: Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
-
ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present.
Chemical Information Sources
-
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- Online version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, a comprehensive source for chemical and physical properties data for inorganic and organic compounds
- Interactive tables and graphs
- Can be searched by structure
To find the CAS number of a molecule, look it up in the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics:
-
ChemSpiderA chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
-
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) - Chem WebBookNIST provides chemical and physical property data on over 40000 compounds.
-
Cambridge Structural Database• Resource for three-dimensional structural data of organic molecules
• Repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures
• Entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses
Note: Users must register for an account on the site with a UNC email.
-
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods and environmental protection,
Lab Notebook General Tips
Make your notebook as efficient and accurate as possible. Some more common tips include:
*Use permanent ink.
*Initial and date every page.
*Leave a blank page or two in the beginning for a Table of Contents.
*Draw only a single line through all errors.
*Create a table of chemicals & relevant properties with each experiment.
*Record what you have done.
*Record all observations and explanations of why they happened.
*Be descriptive with titles & headings.
*Start a new page for each experiment.
*At the end of each lab, ask yourself, "Can I recreate this experiment/my results with what I have written down?"
Adapted from "Organizing your lab notebook"
Writing and Citing
-
ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationThis online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).
-
Write Like a Chemist
by
ISBN: 9780195367423Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.
Outlines:
-
How to write an outline (video)
-
Why and how to create an outline (Purdue OWL)
Abstracts:
- UNC Writing Center - Abstracts - Excellent guide to composing abstracts. Also available as a PDF
Researching in the Sciences (videos)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (online)
Careers in Chemistry
-
Occupational Outlook HandbookThis is a guide to career information for many occupations including those in the Life and Physical Sciences.
-
Career Management for Chemists
by
ISBN: 9783540208990Provides common-sense and proven means to enrich and make a more rewarding technical career.
-
American Chemical Society - CareersDiscover the right career choice for you by investigating the various possibilities.
-
Royal Society of Chemistry - CareersA degree in chemistry is required for a wide range of careers. Explore various options by looking at the society's career website.
Science Libraries Chat
Science Librarian
Therese Triumph
she/her/hers
orcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574Instructional Laboratory Videos
-
JoVE Science Education- General Laboratory TechniquesThis video collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments, as well as how to perform basic laboratory functions. Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.
Laboratory Safety Information
-
UNC Department of Environment, Health and SafetyThe Chemical Safety Section works to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control personnel exposures to chemical hazards.
-
MSDS plus CHEMINFOA comprehensive collection of over 200,000 Material Safety Data Sheets for chemicals and commercial products. Each MSDS is presented exactly as provided by the manufacturer/supplier and contains chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection, fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage/handling recommendations. This database also includes CHEMINFO, which contains chemical profile information for more than 1,300 important workplace chemicals.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Department of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene. -
CCOHS Academic Support ProgramCanadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety Academic Support Program provides access to the following databases and collections: MSDS: Material Safety Data Sheets from manufacturers and suppliers; RTECS: Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances; CHEMINFO: Comprehensive health and safety information on pure chemicals; OSH References: OSHLINE, NIOSHTIC, NIOSHTIC-2, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana; FTSS: Fiche techniques sur la scurit des substances.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Dept. of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene.