Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Finding Medical & Health Films/Images: General Medicine Resources
Open Access and Subscribed Medical Media & Images and Copyright Information
Created by Health Science Librarians
Reminder: Finding Copyright Information
Check the Website for Permissions! Many of these allow free use; many have specific requirements. Make sure to check each image from each site before using it.
For a comprehensive list of websites that provide free, open-access images, please visit the LibGuide Images for Reuse.
Point of Care Image Resources
- AccessMedicineMedical and basic science textbooks from McGraw-Hill; thousands of images, videos and illustrations; interactive self-assessment; case files for medical students; time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools; etc.
- Red Book : the report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases (AAP)Resource from the AAP offering vaccine information & schedules; pediatric infectious disease image collection; information and images on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases; etc. Includes access to the 2015 Spanish edition, the Libro Rojo.
- VisualDxA point-of-care visual diagnostic clinical decision support system including more than 17,000 dermatology, oral pathology, ophthalmology, public health, drug reaction, and other images; differential builder, travel info, mobile app available. Enter a travel destination to see all currently endemic diseases and/or outbreaks.
Medical Image Resources
- AccessEmergencyMedicineMcGraw-Hill's collection of emergency medicine textbooks; multimedia; interactive self-assessment; case files; diagnostic and point-of-care tools; patient education documents; with an integrated drug database.
- e-AnatomyThis anatomy reference & teaching tool displays labeled body parts using multiple imaging modalities (MRI, CT) in a sequential, slice by slice manner. Clinical cases are available.
The e-Anatomy mobile app can be downloaded from the Apple store or Google Play.
- MedEdPORTALFrom AAMC, a free peer-reviewed publication service and repository for medical and oral health teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development resources. Mix of resources, including images, pamphlets and films.
- NIH Photo GalleriesFrom the National Institutes of Health, links to Institute image banks and resources
- PEIR:Pathology Education Instructional Resource Digital LIbraryA multidisciplinary public access image database for use in medical education, from the University of Alabama
- Anatomy.tvGeneral & regional anatomical modules including 3D views, clinical text, dissection slides and videos, MRI correlations, biomechanics animations, and self-quizzes; includes focii on Head & Neck, Dental, Spine, Hand & Shoulder, Knee, Abdomen & Thorax, Clinical & Surgical Anatomy, Sports Anatomy, Anatomy Trains for massage, Pelvic Floor, Chiropractic & Acupuncture, etc.
- National Library of Medicine Digital CollectionsVarious collections curated and digitized by the NLM featuring biomedical texts, films, images, and maps.
- MedPix® by the National Library of MedicineA free, open-access database of nearly 60,000 images curated by the NLM.
- OPENi (National Library of Medicine)An open access biomedical image search engine
- Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900Collection of primary source documents from advertising and other popular press images demonstrating the history of popular remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America; including contemporary trends such as phrenology, herbal medicines, hydrotherapy, other folk medicines, early dentistry, pharmaceutical production and drug sales materials, and more. Images and research drawn from the collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.