Medical Student Resources: Application Phase Resources
Medical Student Resources: links to databases, case scenario resources, and textbooks
Created by Health Science Librarians
SOM Clerkship Guide
Request Assistance with a Clinical Search
Need help with a clinical search to support patient care? Complete search form for assistance with a clinical search. Turnaround time: 2-6 hours
Search to find articles, many with links to full-text.
Clinical Decision Support and Core Online Books
Shelf Exam Study Tools
- Case Files Collection - Access Medicine
- Board Vitals Shelf Exams [Requires creation of login using UNC email address]
- McGraw-Hill First Aid - Shelf Exam Review
- Access Medicine Shelf Exam Review
- Access OB-GYN Shelf Exam Review
- Access Pediatrics Shelf Exam Review
- Access Surgery Shelf Exam Review
Medical Student Tutorials
- PubMed SearchingCreated by HSL clinical librarians, this guide provides a way to quickly review the basic PubMed search skills needed to answer clinical questions.
Evidence Based Practice
- Cochrane LibraryLeading source for full-text systematic reviews in health care. Searches a collection of databases that includes the CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more. Click on "Search Limits" or the Browse tab to select content from a specific database.
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
- TRIP Database : the Search Engine for Evidence-Based MedicineOpen access clinical search engine. Create an account and list University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as your institution to get the Find@UNC button on listings.
- JAMAevidenceProvides tools for students and clinicians to evaluate and interpret medical literature and better understand the principles of Evidence Based Practice/Medicine, including the books Users' Guides to Medical Literature, The Rational Clinical Examination , etc.
Connect with us
