Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
MEJO 673: Advertising Campaigns: Home
What is in this Guide?
Resources for MEJO 673: Advertising Campaigns at the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media, including Simmons Insights.
Info on Products
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsCovers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
- CB InsightsProvides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.
Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed.
- Mintel AcademicContains market research data and reports on consumer markets and products, demographics, consumer buying behavior and motivations, trends in global consumer markets. Many reports include Databooks with downloadable consumer survey data. U.S.-focused with some global coverage.
- GlobalData IntelligenceReports provide analysis, forecasts, news, and data for consumer industries such as suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channels, consumer insights and trends, company market share, pricing, and more. Search the Product Launch Analytics database by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.
Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu.
Info on People
- SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
Data analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, business, consumer spending, marketing data from government sources, EASI Analytics, Nielsen Scarborough, and SimmonsLOCAL Consumer Insights. Export data in spreadsheet or shapefile format, and export maps as images.
Note:Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.
Map image from SimplyAnalytics, 2024.
- data.census.govData.census.gov is the primary way to access data from most U.S. Census Bureau surveys and programs. Search for data tables from the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, Economics Census, annual Population Estimates, annual economic surveys, and more. Visit the Census Academy site to learn more about using this tool.
- StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - Simmons InsightsData on adult U.S. consumers includes attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. Covers a wide variety of products, brands and services.
Data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income, etc.); consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes); and buying and media habits. Create reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.
Citing
Contact Us!
We're here to help! To reach us...
Email: parkadmin@listserv.unc.edu
Call only: 919-843-1842
Text only: 919-442-8077
Park Library Chat
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
With your ONYEN and password you have off-campus access to most subscription resources.
Instructions for accessing a resource from off-campus:
- Use the library link for the resource (from a research guide or the database list).
- Log in with your ONYEN and password when prompted.
- Search and research like you normally would.
About the Park Library
The Park Library is supported by the Hussman School of Journalism & Media. Read more about the Library's mission or about Roy H. Park.
We welcome the use of our collections and services by all students and researchers.
