Public Health: Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Created by Health Science Librarians
Other resources at the library
Water and sanitation data sets
Core Resources
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
Enviromental Databases
- GreenFILE
- Multidisciplinary database of information on the human impact on the environment
- Scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments
- Indexing and abstracts of an extensive number of records, as well as Open Access full text records
- Connections between the environment and the disciplines of agriculture, education, law, health and technology
- Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling
Note: Best used with Internet Explorer or Firefox. - BIOSIS Citation Index
- Citation and abstract database with access to many of the articles through the library
- Covers the area of life sciences research from 1926 to present
- Includes journals, books, reports, meetings, and patents
- AGRICOLAThe National Agriculture Library Catalog provides citations to literature in agriculture and allied disciplines, including veterinary sciences, entomology, aquaculture and fisheries, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences. Site does not contain full text articles.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
- Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics Also contains environmental impact statements
Enviromental Statistics (United States)
Energy Information Administration
Annual Energy Review
The Annual Energy Review (AER) reports historical annual energy statistics.
Monthly Energy Review
The Monthly Energy Review (MER) covers recent energy statistics.
Environmental Protection Agency
Envirofacts
Envirofacts provides a single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data.
AirData
The AirData Web site gives you access to air pollution data for the entire United States. AirData produces reports and maps of air pollution data based on criteria that you specify.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Gathers worldwide environmental data about the oceans, earth, air, space, and sun and their interactions to describe and predict the state of the physical environment.
Natural Hazards Statistics
Statistical information on fatalities, injuries and damages caused by weather related hazards.
Fisheries Statistics Division
The Fisheries Statistics Division collects data and coordinates information and research programs to support the science-based stewardship of the nation's living marine resources.
National Climatic Data Center
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data.
Monthly Climatic Data for the World
Monthly issues contains monthly mean temperature, pressure, precipitation, vapor pressure, and sunshine for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide and monthly mean upper air temperatures, dew point depressions, and wind Velocities for approximately 500 observing sites. (1948-Present)
Weather/Climate Data and Products
Links to additional publications/data
National Oceanographic Data Center
The NODC archives and distributes global oceanographic data and information.
National Geophysical Data Center
NGDC provides stewardship, products and services for geophysical data describing the solid earth, marine, and solar-terrestrial environment, as well as earth observations from space.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
State of the Land
This site provides data and analysis on land use, soil erosion, water quality, wetlands, and other issues regarding the conservation and use of natural resources. Maintained by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.
National Resources Inventory
A statistical survey of land use and natural resource conditions and trends on U.S. non-Federal lands.
Fire Statistics
This page contains statistics on fires that occur in the United States and analytical and topical reports that describe the national fire problem. Also included are statistics related to firefighters and fire departments.
Additional fire statistics available from the National Fire Protection Association.
State Minerals Statistics and Information
Water Resources of the United States
Current and historical water resources data and maps.
Engineering Databases
- AccessScience
- Reference resource covering major scientific disciplines with links to primary sources
- Online equivalent to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- ACM Digital LibraryFull-text collection of all ACM publications including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books. The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database with a focus on the field of computing is included in the ACM Digital Library.
- AGRICOLAThe National Agriculture Library Catalog provides citations to literature in agriculture and allied disciplines, including veterinary sciences, entomology, aquaculture and fisheries, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences. Site does not contain full text articles.
- IEEE Xplore
- Access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- Contains Full-text IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards since 1988, plus select content back to 1950
- Full text access to documents from major publication, including charts, graphs, diagrams, photographs, and illustrative material
- Content from scientific journals, conference proceedings, technical standards, eBooks and educational courses
- Unlimited access to a subset of the INSPEC bibliographic and abstract database
NOTE: Before beginning any text and data mining projects, UNC users should notify the UNC Computer Science Liaison Librarian at vargha@email.unc.edu and UNC’s IEEE sales manager at j.vaitkus@ieee.org
Patents and Standards
- Patents LibGuideContains resources for searching for patents, creating patents, and resources for inventors.
- ISO: International Organization for StandardizationSearch and purchase technical reports and standards from the international standards body.
- NIST: National Institute of Standards and TechnologyThis physical science and technology laboratory is a branch of the U.S. Department of Commerce and publishes standards and technical reports.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent SearchUSPTO's patent searching database
- EspacenetOffers free access to more than 90 million patent documents from over 90 patent-granting authorities worldwide. The collection contains information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
