Public Health: Epidemiology
Created by Health Science Librarians
Other Resources at the Library
- AHRQ Training Modules for the Systematic Reviews Methods GuidePresentations based on the AHRQ Methods Guide for Effectiveness and Comparative Effectiveness Reviews, providing training in selecting eligibility criteria, searching the literature, data extraction, quality assessment, and other steps in the creation of a systematic review.
Incidence and Prevalence
Core Resources
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- Cochrane LibraryLeading source for full-text systematic reviews in health care. Searches a collection of databases that includes the CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more. Click on "Search Limits" or the Browse tab to select content from a specific database.
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
- EmbaseHighly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.
- ProQuest Healthcare Administration DatabaseJournal and dissertation research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
Useful Tools
- Epi InfoEpi Info™ is a public domain suite of interoperable software tools designed for the global community of public health practitioners and researchers
- MedCalc 3000A wide array of pertinent and evidence-based medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types
EBM Calculator by Mercer University
Data and Health Statistics
Below are some health data & statistics recourses you may find useful. More resources can also be found on the Health Data & Statistics guide.
Health People.com Data2020 Search - Healthy People 2020 includes over 1,200 objectives to monitor and improve the health of all Americans over the decade... Healthy People relies on many diverse data systems including: National censuses of events (like the National Vital Statistics System), nationally representative sample surveys (like the National Health Interview Survey), and other valid and reliable data sources (like the Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute)"
National Center for Health Statistics FastStats- "The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages."
Rural Health Information Hub- "The Rural Health Information Hub, formerly the Rural Assistance Center, is funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy to be a national clearinghouse on rural health issues."
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics- "The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics"
Interested in searching in grey literature? Check out our guide about it!