Wiki Monthly Art Edit at the Sloane Art Library: Optional Focus: Artists' Books
Chat with a librarian
About this Optional Focus Project
We are experimenting with a new “Optional Focus” thread in our Wiki Editing work: improving and expanding Wiki pages related to Artists’ Books.
Anyone is welcome to join in this effort, but it is totally optional. Any art-related editing is encouraged during the Wiki* Art Edits, so there’s no need to focus on Artists’ Books unless you’re curious to explore this topic.
Artists’ Books are a particular area of strength for the Sloane Art Library (Guide: Artists' Book Collection at Sloane) and as we searched for wiki pages about Artists’ books, artists who make them, and topics such as binding techniques, we noticed there are gaps to fill!
This sub-project draws on sources within our physical collections, and online resources. We will be adding citations, increasing links between pages, expanding content in existing pages, and perhaps creating new pages within this area.
Suggestions for Editing
Category Pages in Wikipedia can be a good place to start, to get a sense of represented pages within a topic. Taking a look in Category Pages for gaps can provide initial ideas for pages that may not be linked to a category yet, or may not yet exist.
Also check the Pages of artists and organizations you are interested in. Adding citations and increasing links to and from individual artists’ pages increases visibility and improves their quality.
Recommended Sources for Artists' Books
Selected Online Sources (Publicly Available)
-
Artists' Books OnlineAn online collection of resources pertaining to artists' books, created under the direction of visual theorist, critic, and artist Johanna Drucker, and hosted at the University of Virginia .
-
Artists’ Books and MultiplesA long-running blog dedicated to artists' books, multiples, records, ephemera, and more, created by artist, writer, and curator Dave Dyment.
-
Artists' Books Critical IndexA Zotero-based index of citations pointing to where specific artists' books are discussed in literature about artists' books. Citations appear in the Notes field of each artist's book's listing. Created by the Sloane Art Library.
-
Book Arts NewsletterPublished at the Centre for Fine Print Research, University of West England-Bristol, edited by scholar and artist Sarah Bodman.
-
Bonefolder: An E-journal for the Bookbinder and Book Artist."The Bonefolder, an outgrowth of the Book Arts Web, is a peer-reviewed "open-access" e-journal for bookbinding and the book arts." (Bonefolder website)
Selected E-Resources at UNC Libraries
-
Journal of Artists' Books"As a forum for the study of artists' books, JAB publishes critical and theoretical articles, reviews of artists' books and exhibitions, and commentary on conferences and and other book art-related activities." (from the JAB web site).
-
Art & Architecture SourceIncludes full-text coverage of over 760 journals and 220 books from fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It also provides detailed indexing and abstracts for many other leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications for which full-text is not available. It has strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Includes and expands on the coverage and contents of Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete.
Publishers and Producers of Artists' Books
Similarly to how many commercial art galleries provide exceptional visual and textual information about the artists they represent, organizations involved in the production and selling of artists’ books often function in dual roles as both non-profit entities with rich and informative catalogs, and as online shops for people seeking to own artists’ books.
The sites below are included on this page not as a commercial endorsement, but because of the wealth of knowledge they offer about artists’ books over the decades. These may not be ideal sources to cite directly in Wikipedia pages or citations, but they can provide inspiration regarding artists, materials, techniques and concepts that you may wish to research further in other sources.
Booklyn
Printed Matter
Visual Studies Workshop
Women’s Studio Workshop
Artists' Books
Facsimile of La prose du Transsibérien et la petite Jehanne de France.