Clinical Rehabilitation & Mental Health Counseling Resources: Books & Videos
Created by Health Science Librarians
Media Support for Instructors
- Find a FilmFind a film searching the catalog or using FilmFinder
Core Streaming Media Collections
- Counseling and Therapy in VideoThis large collection of videos offers a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Includes films demonstrating dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, skills such as reflection and empathy, focuses on working with specific populations such as veterans and teens, etc.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video IContains hundreds of hours of streaming videos and accompanying transcripts of therapy sessions, plus training videos, demonstrations, case consultations, lectures, discussions, workshops, and dozens of discussion guides. Sessions are led by leading psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, and academics in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.Coverage: 1985-2010. See Volumes II, III for more recent content.
- Psychotherapy.netStreaming videos for teaching and training in psychotherapy and related fields.
- Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference WorksThis database contains real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of the sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.
- Film & Streaming Media Guide: Watch Online ResourcesScroll down to Health Sciences collection
- NCLIVE Films on DemandStreaming videos from a variety of sources, including PBS, BBC, HBO, and ABC
Books for Rehabilitation Counseling
UNC Chapel Hill Catalog search (English, 2000-present): "Psychology, Pathological -- Handbooks, manuals, etc."
Below are a few direct links to a small number of relevant e-books:
- Disability StatisticsOnline resource for US disability statistics from Cornell University
- A working life for people with severe mental illnessDeborah R. Becker and Robert E. Drake, Oxford University Press, 2003. The third volume in the Innovations in Practice and Service Delivery with Vulnerable Populations series.
The Individual Placement and Support (IPS) method utilizes the supported employment concept, but modifies it for use with the severely mentally ill. It has a strong empirical research base: rates of competitive employment are 40% or more in IPS programs, compared to 15% in traditional mental health programs.
Occupations Reference e-Books
- ICD-11: Occupational HealthInternational statistical classification of diseases and related health problems (ICD-10) in occupational health.
World Health Organization - Occupational Outlook HandbookUS Bureau of Labor Statistics
- O*NET OnLineO*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Some Additional Psychology/Psychiatry Reference Books
- University Libraries Psychological Assessment e-BooksRough search of University Libraries catalog for psychological assessment related electronic books
- Comprehensive Handbook of PsychopathologyEdited by Patricia B. Sutker and Henry E. Adams. New York: Kluwer Academic ©2002. (3rd edition)
Course-Related Films
UNC Libraries Disabilities (English Videos Online), (catalog search)
Media & Design Center Assistance for Instructors
Below are a few direct links to relevant streaming films:
- Unchaining the Mind: Advances in Schizophrenia Research2004 - This 10-part film series studies the history and physiology of schizophrenia, and illustrates current research aimed at finding a cure. Outlining the functions of neurotransmitters and the development of antipsychotic drugs, the video discusses newer medications and the importance of long-term care, & includes interviews with patients, psychiatrists, and mental health nurses.
DSM-5 & 5-TR (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition, American Psychiatric Association)
- DSM-5The current standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States and contains a listing of diagnostic criteria for every psychiatric disorder recognized by the U.S. healthcare system
- DSM-5-TR (2022)The first published revision of the DSM-5 with modifications for more than 70 disorders. This text revision also includes updates to the descriptive text of each DSM disorder based on recent literature reviews. Finally, it includes a prolonged grief disorder as a new diagnosis, as well as symptom codes for reporting suicidal and nonsuicidal self-injurious behavior.
- DSM-5 Clinical CasesWritten as a companion to the DSM-5, each of the 19 chapters features cases chosen to demonstrate one or more DSM-5 diagnoses, and each of the cases (103 in all) is followed by a short diagnostic discussion.The cases are written by over 100 psychiatrists, psychologists, and other mental health professionals.
- DSM-5 Essentials : the Savvy Clinician's Guide to the Changes in CriteriaHighlights the changes from the DSM-IV to the DSM-5 and, gives information on updates to diagnosis and assessment guidelines, and provides the relevant ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes.
- DSM-5 Handbook of Differential DiagnosisThis handbook is designed to improve your skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by presenting the problem from a number of different perspectives, with decision trees and differential diagnostic tables.
- Strengthening the DSM: Incorporating Intersectionality, Resilience, and Cultural CompetenceThis book helps mental health practitioners and other health professionals to consider intersectionality, resilience, and cultural competence in the diagnostic process. It includes case studies that show how to use a strength-based approach to patient care.
- Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5Spanish language edition of the DSM-5.
DSM-IV TR - Previous Edition
- DSM-IV TRDiagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Fourth Edition, Text Revision
American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc. - DSM-IV TR - more booksAdditional resources to accompany the DSM-IV TR.
Find E-Books
Search the Libraries' Catalog
Connect with us
