Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Clinical Rehabilitation & Mental Health Counseling Resources: Databases
Created by Health Science Librarians
Major Medical & Interdisciplinary Resources
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
- Cochrane LibraryLeading source for full-text systematic reviews in health care. Searches a collection of databases that includes the CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more. Click on "Search Limits" or the Browse tab to select content from a specific database.
- ScopusIncludes scientific, technical, medical, social science, arts & humanities disciplines. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see times cited and by whom, for 1996 - present.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861, with Full Text from 1997; elected masters theses. Tests & Measures developed as part of dissertations can often be found in appendices.
In addition, the Full Text of most UNC masters theses and doctoral dissertations from 2006 forward are freely available electronically from the UNC Libraries Carolina Digital Repository: Dissertations | Theses
Core Psychology & Rehabilitation Databases
- CIRRIE (Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange) via NARIC REHABDATACitations of international rehabilitation research published since 1990. Search via REHABDATA database Advanced Search page, which includes approximately 115,000 records originally indexed in the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) database.See, also, REHABDATA (NARIC).
- Core Streaming Media CollectionsIncludes Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I, II, III), and Rehabilitation Therapy in Video.
- DSM (Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) ResourcesLink to DSM resource tab on this guide.
- National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR)The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). We collect, catalog, and disseminate the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDILRR, as well as the wider community of disability and rehabilitation research.
- NeuroBITE - NeuroRehab Evidence Resource (Formerly PsycBITE)NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
- PILOTS (now PTSDpubs)By the US Dept of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. Coverage: 1871 - current
- PTSDpubsFormerly PILOTS database, produced by the US Dept of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. Coverage: 1871 - current
- REHABDATA (via NARIC) Advanced Search PageFrom the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC), the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR).
The REHABDATA database spans almost 50 years of disability and rehabilitation research. More than 200,000 abstracts are available through this database, including approximately 115,000 records originally indexed in the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) database. - SAMHSA (Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration) Publications & Digital ProductsFind and download free publications, apps, and other resources on treatment, prevention, and recovery for mental and substance use disorders.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextIncludes physical therapy, occupational therapy, and other rehabilitation-related disciplines;sports medicine, exercise science, sports, fitness; and more.
- Test Compilations & Search ToolsLink to Test Compilations & Search Tools on this guide's Research & Practice tab.
Related Social Science Databases
Food for Thought on Searching for Disability Research and for Acknowledging Outdated or Offensive Terminology
- Nancy Schaefer (2015) Disability Search Tips and Resources, Medical Reference Services Quarterly, 34:1, 60-74, DOI: 10.1080/02763869.2015.986792Although this resource is several years old and much is evolving in this area, it has information that continues to be useful for searching.
For UNC Chapel Hill Users FIND@UNC link for Full Text.
- DO-IT Glossary of Disability-Related Terms DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) serves to increase the successful participation of individuals with disabilities in challenging academic programs such as those in science, engineering, mathematics, and technology. Primary funding for DO-IT is provided by the National Science Foundation, the State of Washington, and the U.S. Department of Education. DO-IT is a collaboration of UW Information Technology and the Colleges of Engineering and Education at the University of Washington.
- On Searching for the Unknown with Unspeakable Names: Searching PubMed for Disability Research. By P.F. Anderson and LaTeesa James in Bill of Health, the blog of the Petrie-Flom Center at Harvard Law School, September 27, 2023"Currently, structured vocabulary terms related to disability are scattered throughout PubMed’s medical subject heading (MeSH) trees, often without cross references to facilitate discovery, forcing discovery to largely depend on the unstructured language of whatever words were chosen by the authors to describe their research topics. This lack of consensus and consistency across professional disability terms, categories, and definitions contributes to a lack of comparability, discoverability, and access for disability data as well as research."
- Acknowledge Outdated or Offensive Terminology in Searches (UNC Health Sciences Library Systematic Reviews Guide)Research teams need to discuss current and outdated terminology and decide which terms to include in the search to be as comprehensive as possible.
- Addressing antiquated, non-standard, exclusionary, and potentially offensive terms in evidence syntheses and systematic searches. Townsend, W., Anderson, P., Haines, K., Hansen, S., James, L., MacEachern, M., Rana, G., Saylor, K. & Saylor, K. (2022)This document, from the University of Michigan Library, "provides suggested processes and wording for addressing the inclusion of antiquated, non-standard, exclusionary, and potentially offensive terms in evidence syntheses and systematic searches."
Researching Military Mental Health Topics
- Military & Government CollectionDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this resource indexes periodicals, academic journals, and pamphlets relevant to military studies.
Note: Minimum browser requirements: Explorer 5.5, Firefox 1.0, Netscape 7.x, Safari 1.2x
- ProQuest Military DatabaseArticles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
- PTSDpubsVia ProQuest: PTSDpubs database (formerly PILOTS) is a freely available, online database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD at the US Department of Veterans Affairs.
- PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) via VA.gov National Center for PTSDVia VA.gov includes additional information about the database and an FAQ tab with information to aid in use. PTSDpubs database (formerly PILOTS) is a freely available, online database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD at the US Department of Veterans Affairs. .
- Veterans and Military Health Resource Guide (Georgetown University Dahlgren Memorial Library)Lists military relevant terms to consider in searching common databases. Note that UNC provides access to PubMed Medline (not OVID Medline) and that you will need to connect to each database listed via the UNC Libraries website.
Defense Technical Information Center/DTIC
- Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)The central resource for DoD- and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business related information for the DoD community.
- DTIC Products & Services Page• Products & Services page includes access to:
o DTIC Publicly Available Collections
o Access-Controlled Collections requiring DoD-issued CAC, PIV card, or ECA.
o DTIC Thesaurus
- A few search hints and examples for using the DTIC Thesaurus -
The Thesaurus provides a broad, multi-disciplinary subject-term vocabulary that aids in information search and retrieval. Subject terms, called Descriptors, are organized into hierarchies, where series of narrower terms are linked to broader terms.
o BT=broader term; NT=narrower term
o Hazing: BT=Violence
o Violence: NT=Hazing
o MILITARY FORCES (UNITED STATES)
UF ARMED FORCES (UNITED STATES)
BT MILITARY ORGANIZATIONS
NT AIR FORCE
NT ARMY
NT COAST GUARD
NT MARINE CORPS
NT NAVY
NT SPACE FORCE
NT SPECIAL OPERATIONS FORCES
NT UNIFIED COMBATANT COMMANDS
NT UNIT TYPE CODES
• Subject categories: Behavioral and Social Sciences (5): https://discover.dtic.mil/thesaurus/subject-categories/05behavioral/
- Peace, War, & Defense Databases (e-research by discipline from UNC University Libraries)Additional, potentially relevant databases depending upon your topic.
Some resources for government statistics on military participation, veterans, and drug use in the armed forces:
Browse or search the following for topic ideas:
A Few Relevant Journals Available via UNC University Libraries (remember that you can use our free InterLibrary Loan service for articles, books, and other materials that we do not own). In addition to your usual counseling, psychology, and behavioral health journal, consider these, depending upon your topic:
- Armed Forces & Society
- BMJ Military Health
- Disaster & Military Medicine
- Journal of Military Ethics
- Journal of Military & Strategic Studies
- Journal of Military & Veterans Health (Australia)
- Journal of Military Social Work and Behavioral Health Services [formerly known as Military Behavioral Health (2013 - 2023)]
- Journal of Political & Military Sociology
- Military Medicine
- Military Psychology
- Military Review
- Military Telemedicine On-Line Today, 'Research, Practice, and Opportunities'., Proceedings of the National Forum
Selected additional, specialized journals with content related to psychological trauma to consider, depending upon your topic:
- European Journal of Trauma & Dissociation (French & English)
- Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation
- Journal of Loss & Trauma
- Psychological Trauma
- Trauma (London, England)
- Trauma Care (Basel)
- Trauma, Violence, & Abuse
Additional Resources
- Naval War College Psychological Health Awareness ResourcesThis Guide provides links to sources related to problems faced by returning troops, research being done to understand/treat war-related psychological issues, and efforts being made for veterans so they can cope with stress and adapting to civilian life. Note: Links to licensed resources (not open access) should be searched on the UNC Libraries website and, if not available, ordered via InterLibrary Loan.
Learn How to Use Library Databases
- Database Tips GuideLearn how to search effectively for citations and links to the full text of articles using library databases such as PubMed.
A to Z Databases
- browse by title
- browse by subject
- search by database name
Full Text Articles via Find@UNC
Other Useful Guides
- Psychiatry Information ResourcesUNC-subscribed resources for psychiatry practice, education, and research.
- Psychology & Neuroscience Resources (Davis)Databases
Psychology Subject Specialist Librarian, Jordan Green, and Psychology and Neuroscience Guides.
Aids for Organizing Your Search
Use this guide to help visualize and plan your search:
- From Purdue Libraries Creating a Search Strategy Guide: Constructing a Search Statement Worksheet (.pdf download).
Use this log to keep your search organized and to document your search strategy for reporting:
Access Information
On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC-Chapel Hill ITS.
UNC Hospitals Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Note: UpToDate is available within EPIC.
Off Campus Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.
(Allied) Health Sciences Liaison
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3505-6341
- Barbara's Profile
- brrenner@email.unc.edu
- HSL News/Features
- All (Allied) Health Sciences & Related Guides
- Alternative Academic Careers (ALTAC) Guide
- Appreciative Inquiry & Positive Psychology Resources
- Citing & Writing
- Publishing
- Qualitative Research Resources
- Sciwheel Guide
- Systematic Reviews
- Writing in the Health Sciences
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
(Google Maps for directions)
