Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Collections: Newspapers and magazines: Russia

Text-only (no scans) archive of major Soviet glasnost-era and later Russian newspaper, 1983-2021.

Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English.

Digital archive (1992-2022) of Kommersant (Коммерсантъ, "The Businessman"), the national-level daily Russian newspaper published in Moscow.

Russia's oldest English-language newspaper, created in 1930 as the Communist Party mouthpiece aimed at an international audience, the Moscow News became an important voice of reform in the late 1980s and a record of the transformations of the post-Soviet period, until it was effectively shut down by President Vladimir Putin in 2014.

Major Russian independent newspaper known for critical investigative reporting, published in Moscow 1993-present.

A collection of 9 Moscow and 2 Saint Petersburg newspapers from 1990s and early 2000s: Час пик/Жизнь (Chas pik/Zhizn’, 1990-2000), Деловой мир (Delovoi mir, 1991-1997), Куранты (Kuranty, 1990-1998), Невское время (Nevskoe vremia, 1991-2015), Новые известия (Novye izvestiia, 1997-2016), Общая газета (Obshchaia gazeta, 1991-2002), Правда 5 (Pravda 5, 1996-1998), Правда/Слово (Pravda/Slovo, 1998-2004), Россия (Rossiia, 1990-2009), Российские вести (Rossiiskie vesti, 1991-2012), and Совершенно секретно (Sovershenno sekretno, 1990-2021).

Text-only archive of Russian national-level newspapers and magazines.

Text only selection of major Russian humanities and social sciences journals, including 31 journals from the Russian Academy of Sciences, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. Most publications are in Russian, with some sources in English. Coverage is primarily from the the late 1990s, with the exception of Voprosy istorii (1945-present) and Voprosy literatury (1957-present).

Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English.

Digital archive of 5 Ukrainian newspapers from the early 20th century (1899-1939), focusing on the Soviet period: Боротьба (Borot'ba, published in Kyiv), Діло (Dilo, published in L'viv), Киевская мысль (Kievskaia mysl', published in Kyiv), Пролетарська правда (Proletars'ka pravda, published in Kyiv), and Вісті ВУЦВК (Visti VUTsVK, published in Kharkiv).

Digital archive of major Soviet newspaper, official publication of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR.

Digital archive of major Soviet satirical magazine, famous for its caricatures and the lampooning of religion, alcoholism, bureaucracy, foreign political figures, American and Western imperialism, colonialism and militarism, and current events.

Digital archive of major Soviet newspaper dealing with arts, culture and society.

Russia's oldest English-language newspaper, created in 1930 as the Communist Party mouthpiece aimed at an international audience, the Moscow News became an important voice of reform in the late 1980s and a record of the transformations of the post-Soviet period, until it was effectively shut down by President Vladimir Putin in 2014.

Major weekly illustrated magazine of Soviet/Russian culture that came into particular prominence in the late 1980s during perestroika and glasnost by tackling social issues not discussed in the official press.

Digital archive of leading Soviet newspaper, the official publication of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union.

Note: To view these documents, users must install Acrobat Reader (Version 8.0 or higher).

Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Ukrainian SSR, published 1938-2014 in Kyiv.

A collection of 19 anarchist periodicals from Russia and Ukraine, ca. 1909-1922. Also includes Gazeta futuristov (Газета футуристов), produced by futurists David Burliuk, Vladimir Maiakovskii and Vasilii Kamenskii.

Russian-language Kyrgyz newspaper, published in Bishkek, 1925-present. In 1927-1991 under the title Советская Киргизия it was the official newspaper of the of the Communist Party of the Kirgiz SSR.

Digital archive of major Soviet and Russian newspaper, published by the Ministry of Culture of the Soviet Union, then by the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Includes earlier titles: Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952), and Sovetskaia kultura (1953-1991).

Sovetskoe zdravookhranenie (Soviet Healthcare) was Soviet Union’s premier public health journal, and is essential for studying history of health care, health policy, and health education in the Soviet Union during and after WWII.

Туркменская искра ("The Turkmen Spark") was a Russian-language official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Turkmenistan, published 1924-1995 in Ashgabat. It was succeeded by Нейтральный Туркменистан ("Neutral Turkmenistan").

The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire

Russian-language imperial newspaper devoted to the Caucasus, published 1846-1918 in Tbilisi (Tiflis), Georgia.

Collection of kopeck (penny) newspapers, published in St. Petersburg and Peterograd (1908-1918) and in Moscow (1909-1918). These publications enjoyed the widest circulation in late Imperial Russia and combined tabloid sensationalism with city news, popular fiction and writing on social issues.

Note: Download and use DjVu and not PDF option.

A collection of 19 anarchist periodicals from Russia and Ukraine, ca. 1909-1922. Also includes Gazeta futuristov (Газета футуристов), produced by futurists David Burliuk, Vladimir Maiakovskii and Vasilii Kamenskii.

Новое русское слово, Russian émigré newspaper published in New York 1910-2020.