Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Collections: Primary source collections

Gale Archives Unbound

Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
Declassified US Department of State documents on Czechoslovakia from end of World War II to the peak of the Cold War. Documents include special reports on political and military affairs, studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, court proceedings and other legal documents, letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers, and translations of high-level foreign government documents.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
This digital collection provides an in-depth look into the creation of the East German state, living conditions, and its people. Documents included in this collection are mostly instructions to and dispatches from US diplomatic and consular personnel regarding political, military, economic and other internal conditions and events in East Germany.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1950-1963

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Collection of primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European people in the aftermath of World War II.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1945-1950