Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Collections: Newspapers and magazines: Ukraine

Newspapers and magazines: Ukraine

Demokratychna Ukraina Digital Archive
Демократична Україна ("Democratic Ukraine") was a Ukrainian national weekly, published 1992-2020 in Kyiv.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage:1992 - 2020
Language:Ukrainian

Digital Archive of Ukrainian Liberation Movement
Archive of Ukrainian independent, underground, and émigré periodicals, 1950-1990.

Global Press Archive: Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers
Digital Archive of national, regional, and local-level newspapers published in Ukraine (1989-2001) primarily in Ukrainian and Russian, but with some titles in Armenian, Crimean Tatar, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, and Polish sourced primarily from Stanford University Library. Coverage for individual titles varies.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage:1989-2001
Language:Ukrainian, Russian
Global Press Archive: Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers
Digital archive of 5 Ukrainian newspapers from the early 20th century (1899-1939), focusing on the Soviet period: Боротьба (Borot'ba, published in Kyiv), Діло (Dilo, published in L'viv), Киевская мысль (Kievskaia mysl', published in Kyiv), Пролетарська правда (Proletars'ka pravda, published in Kyiv), and Вісті ВУЦВК (Visti VUTsVK, published in Kharkiv).
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage:1899-1939
Language:Ukrainian, Russian
Holos Ukrainy Digital Archive
Голос України ("Voice of Ukraine") is the offical newspaper of Verkhovna Rada, the Ukrainian parliament, published since 1991.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage:1991 - Present
Language:Ukrainian

Libraria
Archive of 20th century Ukrainian periodicals.

Narodna Armiia Digital Archive
Digital archive (1991-2018) of Народна Армiя ("People's Army"), a weekly Ukrainian language newspaper devoted to Ukraine's Armed Forces and veterans affairs, published in Kyiv.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1991-2018
Language: Ukrainian
Narodna Hazeta Digital Archive
Народна газета ("People's Newspaper") was a Ukrainian national weekly affiliated with the Narodnyi Rukh political party, published 1990-2009 in Kyiv.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage:1990 - 2009
Language:Ukrainian
Nezavisimost' Digital Archive
Независимость ("Independence") was a Ukrainian national daily, published 1991-2002 in Kyiv, a successor to the Soviet newspaper Комсомольское знамя ("Komsomol Banner").
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage:1991 - 2002
Language:Russian
Pravda Ukrainy Digital Archive
Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Ukrainian SSR, published 1938-2014 in Kyiv.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Za vil'nu Ukrainu Digital Archive
За Вільну Україну ("For a Free Ukraine") was a Ukrainian national weekly published 1990-2006 in L'viv.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage:1990 - 2006
Language:Ukrainian