Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Collections: Finding secondary sources

Finding research articles (General)

Finding English-language scholarly articles in Slavic & East European Studies is not very different from finding them for any other topic in the humanities and social sciences. The place to start is with your favorite aggregator (though I recommend trying out several, as they all work differently and have different coverage and relevancy ranking). These tools also increasingly index non-English content. Here is a list of aggregators to try (open as well as those the Library pays for):

AMiner

Articles Plus
Index to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
CORE
A searchable collection of open access research papers and datasets.
Access:No restrictions.
Dimensions
Citation database, discovery platform, and research analytics suite that links to nearly 1B citations to journal articles (including preprints), books (and their specific chapters), and conference proceedings. Covers all subjects.

Note: To use the full range of Dimensions’ analysis tools, register for an account using your University email. Doing so will take you to UNC-Chapel Hill’s single sign-on page. Follow the instructions to create your account.
Access: No restrictions
Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

OpenAlex
OpenAlex (created by OurResearch) is an open-source Scholarly Knowledge Graph which contains linked metadata for over 240 million scholarly works. Their user interface is in beta testing, but it allows searching and sorting by a large number of facets. NOTE: This resource also includes some works that have not been peer-reviewed.

Semantic Scholar
Covers scientific literature which utilizes artificial intelligence to enhance its search capabilities. Includes millions of papers from all fields of science published in academic journals, university presses, and scholarly societies from around the world.
Access:No restrictions.

Specialized bibliographies and indexes

ABSEES Online (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
ABSEES provides indexing and some full text of scholarly sources in the humanities and social sciences published in the United States, Canada, and some European countries on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Coverages focuses on 1989 to the present, with some coverage extending to 1939.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1989-present
Letopisi Digital Archive
In-progress project that aims to produce a complete (1917-2017) online collection of the three national Soviet/Russian bibliographies: the book bibliography Книжная летопись (Knizhnaia letopis'), the journal index Журнальная летопись (Zhurnal'naia letopis'), and the newspaper index Газетная летопись (Gazetnaia letopis').
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1917-2017 (in progress, coverage varies for the three titles included).
Language:Russian
Slavic Humanities Index
Covers 220 of the most important and current Slavic humanities periodicals published in Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine, with a special focus on Czech Republic, Poland, and Ukraine. Most periodicals are indexed from around 1994 to the current issue, but some select publications are indexed back into the 1980s.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Covers the most important and current Slavic humanities periodicals published in Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine, with a special focus on Czech Republic, Poland, and Ukraine. The index currently contains over 215,000 bibliographic citations from around 220 periodicals in twenty one languages.
Language: Various

Digital libraries and journal repositories

CEEOL - Central and Eastern European Online Library
Provides access to the highest-quality current and archival scholarly journals, books and grey literature in the humanities and social sciences from and about Central and Eastern Europe.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Various