Skip to Main Content

Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Collections: Featured Collections

André Savine Collection

A picture of the Kremlin painted on the wall of the Alekseevskoe Military Academy in the White Army refugee camp in Gallipoli, Turkey.

The André Savine Collection

The André Savine Collection consists of books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting the three waves of Russian emigration of the 20th century and the lives of Russian exiles abroad. In addition to materials produced by émigrés, the collection includes scarce early Soviet publications and pre-revolutionary editions.

The Library has digitized over 1,000 items from the Savine Collection that can be accessed freely via the Internet Archive at The André Savine Digital Collection.

With over 30,000 items in its holdings, the Savine Collection is still being processed. Please get in touch with any questions about these materials!


Image: A picture of the Kremlin painted on the wall of the Alekseevskoe Military Academy in the White Army refugee camp in Gallipoli, Turkey. A group of soldiers (and a couple bulls) look on. Image Source: 1-й Армейский корпус в фотографиях. [Gallipoli, ca. 1921].

Czechoslovak Legion Collection

Czechoslovak Legion train drawing

The Czechoslovak Legion Collection

The Czechoslovak Legion Collection consists primarily of books and periodicals produced by the Legion during its entanglement in the Russian Civil War, 1918-1920. The materials were printed on trains, in towns along the Trans-Siberian railroad, and aboard Allied ships following the Legion's evacuation from Vladivostok. Materials include official newspapers and journals, published Legion documents, political pamphlets, handbooks, works on history, literature, and culture, humor and satire publications, autobiographical materials, reprints of classic literature and original poetry and prose.

Related collection: The Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20.


Image source: Švec, Václav. Schema historických momentů československ. vojenských operací na Sibiři 1918-1919. Irkutsk, 1919.