CHEM 070 First-Year Seminar: You don't have to be a rocket scientist: Home

Home

Finding Articles

University Libraries Website
Find information on academic areas of all subjects including journal articles, ebooks and other reliable sources.

Academic Search Premier
Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
AccessScience
- Reference resource covering major scientific disciplines with links to primary sources
- Online equivalent to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Proquest Central
A general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Language: Various
PubMed
Database of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1957-present
Scopus
A citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Popular Sources

These sources are not scholarly, but may give you a good idea of current research trends and topics.

Discover Magazine	Scientific American
The Economist	Science News
National Science Foundation - Discoveries	Time Magazine
The New York Times - Science (register for access)	US News and World Report
NPR Science News	Washington Post
Popular Science

Course Texts & Materials available in the library

Cantor's Dilemma by Carl Djerassi
ISBN: 0385261837
Publication Date: 1989-09-24
For better readers, this is a novel about the machinations behind research and discoveries in science.
Standard Deviations by Gary Smith
ISBN: 9781468311020
Publication Date: 2015-07-21
Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman! by Richard P. Feynman
ISBN: 0393019217
Publication Date: 1984-12-17
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert M. Pirsig
ISBN: 0688002307
Publication Date: 1974-05-01

Writing and Citing

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
This online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).

Write Like a Chemist by Marin S. Robinson; Fredricka L. Stoller; Molly Constanza-Robinson; James K. Jones
ISBN: 9780195367423
Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.