English 105 Online Curriculum Module: Documenting Student Activism at UNC: 1: Dedication of the UNC Confederate Monument "Silent Sam," 1913
Materials Related to the Silent Sam Dedication Ceremony (1913)
Item 1: "The Soldiers' Monument Unveiled" (article from The Alumni Review)
Citation
"The Soldiers' Monument Unveiled." The Alumni Review, 1, no. 6 (June 1913): 184-185.
Downloadable version
For further research
- Carolina Alumni Review Digital ArchiveThe digital archive contains issues of the Carolina Alumni Review dating back to October 1912.
- The Alumni Review digitized at Internet ArchiveFull issues in the Public Domain are digitized here and available for download.
Item 2: "Unveiling of Confederate Monument at University" (speech by Julian Shakespeare Carr)
Citation
“Unveiling of Confederate Monument at University,” Folder 26, Julian Shakespeare Carr Papers #00141, Southern Historical Collection, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
- Julian Shakespeare Carr Papers, 1892-1923This finding aid provides access to and descriptions of a wide variety of materials related to Carr's business and personal life. It contains a multitude of “letters, telegrams, printed announcements, programs, and pamphlets, business and legal documents, maps, and newspaper clippings," among other documents. Some materials have been digitized, while others must be viewed in person at the library. Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
Item 3: "As Chairman of the Monument Committee of the North Carolina Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, I have the honor..." (speech by Bettie Jackson London)
Citation
London, Bettie Jackson. "As Chairman of the Monument Committee of the North Carolina Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, I have the honor." Presented at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1913.
Downloadable version
For further research
- Henry Armand London PapersThis finding aid provides access to and descriptions of a wide variety of materials related to Henry Armand London, who married Bettie Jackson London in 1875. Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
Item 4: "Acceptance of the Monument" (speech by Francis Preston Venable)
Citation
"Acceptance of the Monument," Folder 128, F.P. Venable Papers #04368, Southern Historical Collection, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
- F.P. Venable PapersThis finding aid provides access to and descriptions of the personal correspondences and professional writings of Francis P. Venable and his family members between 1838 and 1946. Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
Item 5: "Confederate Monument: Dedication, 2 June 1913" (photograph)
Citation
"Confederate Monument: Dedication, 2 June 1913," Folder 226, Print Box 9, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Image Collection Collection #P0004, North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
