English 105 Online Curriculum Module: Documenting Student Activism at UNC: 5: Freedom Legacy Project, 1995-2001
Materials Related to the Freedom Legacy Project (1995-2001)
Item 1: "The Freedom Legacy Project Proposal" (1995)
Citation
"The Freedom Legacy Project (Proposal),” Folder 43, John Kenyon Chapman Papers #5441, Southern Historical Collection, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
- Interview with Fred Battle by Thomas Kimber, 13 April 2016Fred Battle discusses his founding of the Chapel Hill chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), his participation in student protests and other activist efforts, and the African American business owners who worked to provide quality products and services for Chapel Hill's African American residents. This interview is available in the Southern Oral History Program Interview Database, which provides detailed descriptions of interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection . The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at UNC. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available through this database created and maintained by the University Library at UNC.
- Interview with Gloria M. Williams by Rachel Winters, 21 March 1995Gloria M. Williams discusses her community development efforts through the Joint Orange Chatham Community Action agency and her experiences as a woman taking on leadership roles within activist movements and organizations. This interview is available in the Southern Oral History Program Interview Database, which provides detailed descriptions of interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection (04007). The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at UNC. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available through this database created and maintained by the University Library at UNC.
- John Kenyon Chapman Papers, 1969-2009This finding aid provides access to and descriptions of a wide variety of materials from John Kenyon Chapman (1947-2009), known as Yonni, who was a life-long social justice activist, organizer, and historian who focused his academic and social efforts on workers rights and African American empowerment in central North Carolina. Digitized materials related to the establishment and organization of the Freedom Legacy Project, a student activist organization, are located in Series 4 (Freedom Legacy Project Records, 1995-2008), Folder 43-44 (Freedom Legacy Project organizational materials, 1995-2001). Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
Item 2: "Fess Up, Silent Sam!" (fact sheet compiled by John Kenyon Chapman for the Freedom Legacy Project)
Citation
“Fess Up, Silent Sam!,” Folder 45, John Kenyon Chapman Papers #5441, Southern Historical Collection, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
- John Kenyon Chapman Papers, 1969-2009This finding aid provides access to and descriptions of a wide variety of materials from John Kenyon Chapman (1947-2009), known as Yonni, who was a life-long social justice activist, organizer, and historian who focused his academic and social efforts on workers rights and African American empowerment in central North Carolina. Digitized materials related to activism for the removal of Silent Sam are located in Series 4 (Freedom Legacy Project Records, 1995-2008), Folder 45 (Silent Sam statue controversy, 1997-2006). Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
- Black Freedom and the University of North Carolina, 1793-1960This dissertation was submitted by Yonni Chapman in 2006, marking his completion of UNC's Ph.D. program in history. It documents institutional racism in UNC's history and the struggle for equality led by Black students and community members. It also argues that "recent histories of the University of North Carolina trivialize the institution's support for white supremacy during slavery, Reconstruction, and Jim Crow, while denying that this unjust past affects the university today."
- Second Generation: Black Youth and the Origins of the Civil Rights Movement in Chapel Hill, N.C., 1937-1963This master's thesis was submitted by Yonni Chapman in 1995 in completion of the Master's program in history at UNC.
Item 3: "Saunders Hall renaming demonstration, 1999: Scans 1 and 2" (photographs)
Citations
"Freedom Legacy Project, Saunders Hall renaming demonstration, 1999, Scans 1 and 2," Image Folder PF-5441/58, John Kenyon Chapman Papers #5441, Southern Historical Collection, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
- The Real Silent Sam Coalition websiteThe Real Silent Sam Coalition was "comprised of students, faculty, and community members who are devoted to bringing historical accuracy to the physical and mental landscapes at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and our surrounding communities."
- John Kenyon Chapman Papers, 1969-2009This finding aid provides access to and descriptions of a wide variety of materials from John Kenyon Chapman (1947-2009), known as Yonni, who was a life-long social justice activist, organizer, and historian who focused his academic and social efforts on workers rights and African American empowerment in central North Carolina. Digitized materials related to activism for the renaming of Saunders Hall are located across the collection, including in Series 4 (Freedom Legacy Project Records, 1995-2008), Folder 46 (Saunders Hall Project, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill building names and institutional racism, 1999-2008), and throughout Series 8 (Photographs of Demonstrations, Meetings, and Events, 1975-2007). Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
- A Guide to Researching Campus Monuments and Buildings: Campus Buildings and Additional ResourcesThis guide provides search strategies related to campus buildings, and it uses the renaming of Saunders Hall as an example of how to find relevant resources.
- Southern Oral History Program: Racial Justice Activism, 2016-2018Interviews pertain to the history of racial justice movements at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill from 1991 to 2018, with a focus on the student-led movement for a free-standing Black Cultural Center (Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History) from 1991-1993 and the 2014-2015 movement led by the Real Silent Sam Coalition to create Hurston Hall. Interviews include discussions of personal experiences with institutional racism, reflections on the racialized landscape of the campus, workers' movements and labor activism in Chapel Hill, and the legacy of past racial justice campus organizing for contemporary movements. Other topics discussed include the housekeepers' movement of the 1990s, early efforts to challenge Saunders Hall in the 1990s and 2000s, the role of collegiate athletics in racial justice movements, the impact of the University's academic-athletic scandal on Black students and faculty in the 2010s, black women's leadership in campus organizing, and the legacy of the University as a site of enslavement.
- Saunders Hall renamed Carolina HallThis and other articles contemporary to the time Saunders Hall was officially renamed Carolina Hall can be found on The Daily Tar Heel's website via searching for keywords.
Connect with us
