English 105 Online Curriculum Module: Documenting Student Activism at UNC: 3: Murders of James Lewis Cates and William Earl Murphy, 1970-1971
Materials Related to the Murders of James Lewis Cates and William Earl Murphy (1970-1971)
Item 1: "James Cates Memorial Demonstration, 19 November 1971" (photographs published in the 1972 Yackety Yack)
Citation
“Black Student Movement.” Yackety Yack, 82 (1972): 189-190.
Downloadable version
- James Cates Memorial Demonstration, 19 November 1971Navigate to page 190 in order to view the photographs.
For further research
- A Guide to Resources about UNC's Confederate MonumentThis research guide created by the University Archives includes the Yackety Yack photograph, "James Cates Memorial Demonstration, 19 November 1971," in its photo gallery.
- America's NewsAmerica's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.
- DigitalNC - North Carolina NewspapersDigitalNC's North Carolina Newspapers collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina, including The Daily Tar Heel (through December 1992) and Black Ink, the newspaper of the Black Student Movement at UNC. Try the Newspapers Advanced Search option, which allows you to search using keywords like "James Cates," "William Murphy," and "protest," and to refine your search results by publication year and type of newspaper. Note that William Murphy also went by the surname Bill, and some publications spelled his last name as Murphey.
- Newspapers.com - North Carolina NewspapersNewspapers.com is a subscription service available to users affiliated with UNC and to patrons in the library buildings. The site contains digitized North Carolina newspapers and is full-text searchable. Use the "Search this Collection" bar and click "Add more info" to limit your search results by Paper Location and Date.
Item 2: "Black Ink editors report on Cates Memorial and Ayden Situation" (articles reprinted in Black Ink: Black Student Movement Official Newspaper)
Citation
"Black Ink editors report on Cates Memorial and Ayden Situation." Black Ink: Black Student Movement Official Newspaper, December 1, 1971.
Downloadable version
For further research
- America's NewsAmerica's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.
- DigitalNC - North Carolina NewspapersDigitalNC's North Carolina Newspapers collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina, including Black Ink, the newspaper of the Black Student Movement at UNC. Try the Newspapers Advanced Search option, which allows you to search using keywords like "James Cates," "William Murphy," and "protest," and to refine your search results by publication year and type of newspaper. Note that William Murphy also went by the surname Bill, and some publications spelled his last name as Murphey.
- Newspapers.com - North Carolina NewspapersNewspapers.com is a subscription service available to users affiliated with UNC and to patrons in the library buildings. The site contains digitized North Carolina newspapers and is full-text searchable. Use the "Search this Collection" bar and click "Add more info" to limit your search results by Paper Location and Date.
- The Daily Times-News: "New Protest Is Planned In Ayden," August 31, 1971This article from Burlington's The Daily TImes-News describes plans the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) made for a five-day march from Greenville to Raleigh to protest police oppression and the murder of William Murphy. Search Newsapers.com for additional articles about challenges faced by protestors and the slow progress of the march.
Item 3: "Oral History Interview with Nate Davis" (excerpt from an interview conducted through the Southern Oral History Program)
Citation
Oral History Interview with Nate Davis, February 6, 2001. Interview K-0538. Southern Oral History Program Collection (#4007) in the Southern Oral History Program Collection, Southern Historical Collection, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
- Interview with Nate Davis, 2001Listen to the full interview with Nate Davis, which is available via the Southern Oral History Program (SOHP) database.
For further research
- Interview with Raney Norwood, 2001Raney Norwood was also a student at Chapel Hill High School and knew James Cates. In this interview for the Southern Oral History Program, he discusses the aftermath of Cates's murder and the impact on Chapel Hill's African American community.
- America's NewsAmerica's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.
- Digital NC - North Carolina NewspapersDigitalNC's North Carolina Newspapers collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina, including Black Ink, the newspaper of the Black Student Movement at UNC. Try the Newspapers Advanced Search option, which allows you to search using keywords like "James Cates," "murder," and "protest" and to refine your search results by publication year and type of newspaper.
- Newspapers.com - North Carolina NewspapersNewspapers.com is a subscription service available to users affiliated with UNC and to patrons in the library buildings. The site contains digitized North Carolina newspapers and is full-text searchable. Use the "Search this Collection" bar and click "Add more info" to limit your search results by Paper Location and Date.
Item 4: Front page of The Daily Tar Heel, November 19, 1971
Citation
Pusey, Karen. "SCLC Attorney: Pitt has history of brutality." The Daily Tar Heel (Chapel Hill, NC), November 19, 1971.
Jeffries, Charles. "Memorial set today in honor of Cates." The Daily Tar Heel (Chapel Hill, NC), November 19, 1971.
Downloadable Version
For further research
- America's NewsAmerica's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.
- Digital NC - North Carolina NewspapersDigitalNC's North Carolina Newspapers collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina, including The Daily Tar Heel (through December 1992) and Black Ink, the newspaper of the Black Student Movement at UNC. Try the Newspapers Advanced Search option, which allows you to search using keywords like "James Cates," "William Murphy," and "protest," and to refine your search results by publication year and type of newspaper. Note that William Murphy also went by the surname Bill, and some publications spelled his last name as Murphey.
- Newspapers.com - North Carolina NewspapersNewspapers.com is a subscription service available to users affiliated with UNC and to patrons in the library buildings. The site contains digitized North Carolina newspapers and is full-text searchable. Use the "Search this Collection" bar and click "Add more info" to limit your search results by Paper Location and Date.
Connect with us
