Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
English 105 Online Curriculum Module: Documenting Student Activism at UNC: 2: Activism of the Black Student Movement, 1967-1969
Materials Related to the Black Student Movement (1967-1969)
Item 1: "List of 23 Demands of the Black Student Movement" (delivered to Chancellor Carlyle Sitterson on December 11, 1968, by members of the Black Student Movement)
Citation
"List of 23 Demands of the Black Student Movement," Folder 19, Box 1, Office of Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Joseph Carlyle Sitterson Records #40022, University Archives, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
- Black Student Movement of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1970s-2012This finding aid provides access to and descriptions of materials created by and related to UNC's Black Student Movement, which formed in November 1967. Box 1 contains photographs from 1997, when the Black Student Movement present a revised set of 22 demands to Chancellor Hooker. Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
- Office of Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Michael Hooker Records, 1995-1999Folder 731 contains an updated list of Black Student Movement demands dated November 14,1997, addressed to Michael Hooker, with Hooker's notes in the margins.
- Black Student Movement Demands, 1968This blog post from UNC's University Archives describes the presentation of the Black Student Movement's original demands in 1968 and connects them with a 2015 set of demands presented by The Real Silent Sam activist coalition at a Town Hall meeting about race and inclusion on campus. It also links to related articles and other primary source materials about the "Black Student Movement Demands."
- The Black Student Movement at UNCThis exhibit from The Carolina Story: A Virtual Museum of University History describes the history of UNC's Black Student Movement.
- Reply by Chancellor J. Carlyle Sitterson of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to a Set of Demands Presented to Him by the Black Student Movement, December 11, 1968Chancellor Sitterson provided this nineteen-page letter in response to the Black Student Movement's set of demands. The response can be viewed online, or in person in the Joseph Carlyle Sitterson Records. To find the response online, scroll to the bottom of the blog and click "Sitterson Response to Black Student Movement Demands, January 1969" in the sources section.
- Office of Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Joseph Carlyle Sitterson Records, 1966-1972This finding aid provides access to and descriptions of correspondence and other files relating to the administration of and academic programs at UNC during the administration of Joseph Carlyle Sitterson. Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
- Oral History Interview with J. Carlyle Sitterson, November 4 and 6, 1987Former University of North Carolina Chancellor J. Carlyle Sitterson recalls the dramatic changes the university underwent during the 1960s. This interview is available via the Southern Oral History Program Interview Database, which provides detailed descriptions of interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection (04007). The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at UNC. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available through this database created and maintained by the University Library at UNC.
Item 2: Front page of The Daily Tar Heel, April 6, 1968
Citation
Gray, Rick. "Chapel Hill Tensions Rise as Black Stage Protest." The Daily Tar Heel (Chapel Hill, NC), April 6, 1968.
Downloadable version
For further research
- America's NewsAmerica's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.
- DigitalNC - North Carolina NewspapersDigitalNC's North Carolina Newspapers collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina, including The Daily Tar Heel (through December 1992) and Black Ink, the newspaper of the Black Student Movement at UNC. Try the Newspapers Advanced Search option, which allows you to search using keywords like "Martin Luther King," "assassination," and "protest," and to refine your search results by publication year and type of newspaper.
- Martin Luther King, Jr., Assassination Remembrance: April 1968This exhibit from The Carolina Story: A Virtual Museum of University History places the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. in the context of the history of UNC's Black Student Movement.
- Newspapers.comNewspapers.com is a subscription service available to users affiliated with UNC and to patrons in the library buildings. The site contains digitized North Carolina newspapers and is full-text searchable. Use the "Search this Collection" bar and click "Add more info" to limit your search results by Paper Location and Date. The Daily Tar Heel is also archived here, through December 1992.
- Hugh Morton's photographs of Silent Sam covered in graffiti, April 1968This digital collection contains a selection of images from the Hugh Morton Photographs and Films (Collection P081, North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives), a rich visual record of the stateís landmarks, people, events, wildlife, scenery, sports, tourism, and its oldest university.
Item 3: "Interview with Elizabeth Brooks by Beverly Washington Jones, October 2, 1974" (interview conducted through the Southern Oral History Program)
Citation
Interview with Elizabeth Brooks by Beverly Washington Jones, October 2, 1974 E-0058, in the Southern Oral History Program Collection #4007, Southern Historical Collection, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
- Part 3: The BSM and the Foodworkers' StrikeThis exhibit from University Libraries provides a brief history of Black Student Movement's involvement in the UNC Foodworkers' Strike, as well as access to related documents and photographs.
- The Black Student Movement at UNCThis exhibit from The Carolina Story: A Virtual Museum of University History describes the history of UNC's Black Student Movement.
- Southern Oral History Program (SOHP): Interviews Related to Labor and the University of North Carolina Foodworkers' StrikesThe Southern Oral History Program Interview Database provides detailed descriptions of interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection (04007). The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at UNC. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available through this database created and maintained by the University Library at UNC.
- Student Protest Movements at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Food Workers' Strike (1968-1969)The "Food Workers' Strike" section of the Student Protest Movements at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill guide compiles books and theses, archival resources, newspapers, and Library of Congress subject headings that may be helpful for researching the protests.
- Interview with Dobbins, Preston. 4 December 1974Preston Dobbins was a key figure in the Black Student Movement, and he also helped coordinate UNC students' support for the Foodworkers' Strike. The Southern Oral History Program Interview Database provides detailed descriptions of interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection (04007). The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at UNC. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available through this database created and maintained by the University Library at UNC.
Item 4: "Students Support the Food Workers" (1969 Yackety Yack)
Citation
“Students Support the Food Workers.” Yackety Yack, 79 (1969): 22-23.
Downloadable version
- Students Support the Food WorkersNavigate to page 23 in order to view the photographs.
For further research
- Interview with Dobbins, Preston. 4 December 1974Preston Dobbins was a key figure in the Black Student Movement, and he also helped coordinate UNC students' support for the Foodworkers' Strike. The Southern Oral History Program Interview Database provides detailed descriptions of interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection (04007). The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at UNC. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available through this database created and maintained by the University Library at UNC.
- Part 3: The BSM and the Foodworkers' StrikeThis exhibit from University Libraries provides a brief history of Black Student Movement's involvement in the UNC Foodworkers' Strike, as well as access to related documents and photographs.
- The Black Student Movement at UNCThis exhibit from The Carolina Story: A Virtual Museum of University History describes the history of UNC's Black Student Movement.
- Student Protest Movements at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Food Workers' Strike (1968-1969)The "Food Workers' Strike" section of the Student Protest Movements at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill guide compiles books and theses, archival resources, newspapers, and Library of Congress subject headings that may be helpful for researching the protests.