English 105 Online Curriculum Module: Documenting Student Activism at UNC: 4: "The Student Body" Statue Controversy, 1990-1991
Materials Related to "The Student Body" Statue Controversy (1990-1991)
Item 1: "Statue Protests" (1991 Yackety Yack)
Citation
"Statue Protests" Yackety Yack, 101 (1991): 77-78.
Downloadable version
- Statue ProtestsNavigate to page 77 in order to view the photographs.
For further research
- “The Student Body” Public Art ControversyThis blog post from UNC's University Archives describes the controversy that emerged after the installment of Julia Balk's statue, "The Student Body," outside of Davis Library in October 1990. It also includes a comment from the artist.
- Office of Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Paul Hardin Records, 1988-1995This finding aid describes materials related to Paul Hardin, who was chief administrative officer of UNC from 1988 to 1995. Documents include correspondence and other files relating to the administration of and academic programs at UNC. Box 10:1 contains more than 90 digitized materials related to "The Student Body" statue, including letters from UNC students, alumni, and community members responding to the statue.
- Black Student Movement of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1970s-2012This finding aid provides access to and descriptions of materials created by and related to UNC's Black Student Movement, which formed in November 1967. Box 1 includes two images of "The Student Body" sculpture by Julia Balk, one of which shows the basketball player figure. Select "request this collection" in the top left corner of the page in order to register as a researcher and view materials in person at the library.
- The Daily Tar Heel: "Statue debate heats up on campus," front page, October 25, 1990One of the articles mentions the student organization Community Against Offensive Statues (CAOS).
Item 2: "Where Are Our Representations On Campus?" (editorial by Joel Winful from Black Ink: Black Student Movement Official Newspaper)
Citation
Wilful, Joel. "Where Are Our Representations On Campus?" Black Ink: Black Student Movement Official Newspaper, December 10,1990.
Downloadable version
For further research
- Office of Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Paul Hardin Records, 1988-1995This finding aid describes materials related to Paul Hardin, who was chief administrative officer of UNC from 1988 to 1995. Documents include correspondence and other files relating to the administration of and academic programs at UNC. Box 10:1 contains more than 90 digitized materials related to "The Student Body" statue, including letters from UNC students, alumni, and community members responding to the statue.
- "Campus Life: North Carolina; All Student Body Not Entirely Fond Of 'Student Body'"The New York Times published this article about students' responses to "The Student Body" statue and the movement to have the statue removed from UNC's campus. Access requires UNC affiliation.
- The Daily Tar Heel: "A violated 'student body'" and "Sculpture a positive and generous gift," front page, January 14, 1991The Daily Tar Heel featured an editorial board opinion piece and a letter from biology professor Walter E. Stumpf about "The Student Body" statue.
- Digital NC - North Carolina NewspapersTo find more newspaper articles about campus activism in response to "The Student Body" statue, use the advanced search feature on Digital NC - North Carolina Newspapers.
Item 3: "As its creator, I cannot help but respond to the debate that has arisen over my statue..." (letter from Julia Balk to Paul Hardin)
Citation
Letter from Julia Balk to Chancellor Paul Hardin October 1990, Folder 1591, Box 10:1, Office of Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Paul Hardin Records #40025, University Archives, Wilson Special Collections Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Downloadable version
For further research
- Office of Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Paul Hardin Records, 1988-1995This finding aid describes materials related to Paul Hardin, who was chief administrative officer of UNC from 1988 to 1995. Documents include correspondence and other files relating to the administration of and academic programs at UNC. Box 10:1 contains more than 90 digitized materials related to "The Student Body" statue, including letters from UNC students, alumni, and community members responding to the statue.
- “The Student Body” Public Art ControversyThis blog post from UNC's University Archives describes the controversy that emerged after the installment of Julia Balk's statue, "The Student Body," outside of Davis Library in October 1990. It also includes a response from Julia Balk in the comments section.
- Artist websiteThis is the professional website of Julia Balk, the artist who created "The Student Body" statue.
Connect with us
