Music Therapy Resources (UNC Hospitals): Databases & Digital Resources
Created by Health Science Librarians
Core Article Databases
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and AbstractsIndexes journal articles in over 500 journals published in 19 different countries. Subjects include health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
- EmbaseHighly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: MusicProvides a focused subject-based introduction to the vast literature on music mediated by recognized scholars of the particular areas. Each bibliographic essay is peer-reviewed, and the bibliographic entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. "My OBO" also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
- Oxford Music OnlineAccess-point for current and forthcoming Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online (the primary music encyclopedia in English), The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Grove Music Online now also includes partnerships with RILM providers and Classical Music Library (CML), providing links from the bibliographies in every Grove article to RILM, and links to sounds files in CML from the Related Content tab of every Grove article.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health DatabaseThis resource supports nursing and allied health professional education and practice with full-text journals, dissertations, e-books, practice guidelines, study resources, and an assortment of videos from MedCom.
- ProQuest Social Science DatabaseResearch covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
- PsycARTICLESPsycARTICLES provides full-text articles from leading more than 100 psychological journals including journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA and the Canadian Psychological Association. These journals cover general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.The database will include all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists.
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
- PsycTESTSA research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- REHABDATA from NARICAbstracts for over 80,000 documents from 1956 to the present covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities; independent living; vocational rehabilitation; special education; assistive technology; law; employment; and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC).
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- Social Services AbstractsSocial Services Abstracts indexes and abstracts current journals and other periodicals in the disciplines of social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Other Digital Resources
Websites for streaming music:
- Library of Congress: Music and the BrainPodcasts from the Library of Congress, focusing on the intersection of neuroscience and music.
Online encyclopedias:
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Historical Performance in Music by ISBN: 9781316257678Publication Date: 2018-08-29Recent decades have seen a major increase of interest in historical performance practice, but until now there has been no comprehensive reference tool available on the subject. This fully up-to-date, illuminating and accessible volume will assist readers in rediscovering and recreating as closely as possible how musical works may originally have sounded. Focusing on performance, this Encyclopedia contains entries in categories including issues of style, techniques and practices, the history and development of musical instruments, and the work of performers, scholars, theorists, composers and editors. It features contributions from more than 100 leading experts who provide a geographically varied survey of both theory and practice, as well as evaluation of and opinions on the resolution of problems in period performance. This timely and ground breaking book will be an essential resource for students, scholars, teachers, performers and audiences.- The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online byPublication Date: Began in 2006The Garland encyclopedia of world music online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Contains the full text of the 10 volume print encyclopedia (originally published in 1997), which is searchable all together for the first time.
Learn More about Using Databases
Don't forget, Ask Us when you have difficulty finding what you're looking for in a database.
Don't forget, many databases have a link to help files as part of their search screens.
Full Text Articles via Find@UNC
Includes Find@UNC in PubMed and what to do when the article is not online via Find@UNC.
- CINAHL & PubMed Searching & Navigating (Eastern Michigan U. Library)CINAHL and PubMed are two of the most widely used databases in the Health Sciences. CINAHL and PubMed are often searched for similar material, so this guide presents concepts essential to both. The content is broken down into small chunks, designed to accommodate the busiest schedules as well as provide easy reference.
- Sample Search on EbscoHOST (YouTube)This is a sample search on the EBSCOhost platform. Uses a search example question to illustrate how you can use the elements of a question to build a search with the thesaurus.
- APA Database on EbscoHOST Training Videos (YouTube)Additional videos for UNC APA databases: PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, PsycTESTS, PsycCRITIQUES.
For help using the New PubMed platform (5/2020), see New PubMed Resource Box.
PubMed resources below are being updated but still have useful information demonstrated using the original PubMed platform.
- Searching PubMedCreated by HSL clinical librarians, this guide provides a way to quickly review the basic PubMed search skills needed to answer clinical questions.
- Scopus TutorialsBasic online tutorials.
- Scopus Quick Reference GuideDownloadable
- Embase Quick User Guidedownloadable
Other Relevant Information Resources
- Music Librarian for Public Service's GuidesGuides to music and streaming music resources by Diane Steinhaus, Music Librarian for Public Service.
Rehabilitation Service Line Resources
Click here to visit our LibGuide for Rehabilitation Line professionals at UNC Hospitals.
Aids for Organizing Your Search
Use this guide to help visualize and plan your search:
- From Purdue Libraries Creating a Search Strategy Guide: Constructing a Search Statement Worksheet (.pdf download).
Use this log to keep your search organized and to document your search strategy for reporting:
About This LibGuide
Created 11/2018 by Shannon Delaney (Graduate Research Assistant, HSL) and Barbara Rochen Renner, PhD (Allied Health Liaison, HSL) to support the information needs of the UNC-CH Department of Allied Health Sciences and Rehabilitation Line professionals at UNC Hospitals.
A to Z Databases
- browse by title
- browse by subject
- search by database name
(Allied) Health Sciences Liaison
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3505-6341
- Barbara's Profile
- brrenner@email.unc.edu
- HSL News/Features
- All (Allied) Health Sciences & Related Guides
- Alternative Academic Careers (ALTAC) Guide
- Appreciative Inquiry & Positive Psychology Resources
- Citing & Writing
- Fogarty Global Health Fellowship Poster Resources
- Implicit Bias Resources
- Publishing
- Qualitative Research Resources
- Sciwheel Guide
- So You Want to Be a Librarian?
- Systematic Reviews
- Writing in the Health Sciences
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
(Google Maps for directions)
Connect with us
