Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Finding News Stories: North Carolina News

Current News

Newspaper Source Plus
Over 1,500 US and foreign newspapers, including 50 from North Carolina. News transcripts from TV and radio. 1990s-present.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1995-present

The Assembly (on-campus access)
Access in-depth, investigative reporting focused on North Carolina news.

News & Observer available on microfilm at
- UNC's North Carolina Collection: 1894 to present (C071 N55).
- UNC's Davis Library: 1980-2011 (Serial 1-857).

Charlotte Observer Historical Archive

Charlotte Observer online. 1892 to present.
Coverage: 1892 - Present
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Greensboro News and Record Historical Archive

Greensboro News and Record from 1906 to present.
Coverage: 1906 - Present
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

text: North Carolina Newspapers

North Carolina Newspapers
African-American, student, and community newspapers from around North Carolina. Some major papers as well. From DigitalNC. Dates vary.
Our State.
Digitized through the State Library of North Carolina. Dates: 1933-2011.
North Carolina News Network (NCNN)
Includes the current and previous days' audio clips. Last update 2020.
NCPA
North Carolina Press Association. View their members by city.

Public Radio

Looking for a specific paper?

Search the library catalog for Subject = North Carolina - Newspapers.
Add terms in the search box and click "Search within results" to narrow your search to a title such as the Mount Olive Tribune or the Mebane Enterprise.

These are available at the North Carolina Collection on microfilm:

African American Newspapers in North Carolina 19th-century-present.
Newspapers by Year, 1736-1865 Hundreds of newspapers, which you can filter by date.

See also:

North Carolina Newspapers at the State Library of North Carolina. This brochure explains their holdings.
North Carolina Newspaper Locator This lists all newspapers available at N.C.'s Government and Heritage Library on microfilm.

Newspapers.com (North Carolina Newspapers)
North Carolina newspapers from 1751-1992. Not all newspapers or dates are included.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Current issues ... on Facebook... on Twitter ... on YouTube
Print archive, Sept. 2017 to present.
Issues on Scribd (full-image of the daily paper), January 2010-April 2017
Online between 1893-1992 at
- Digital NC (open to all)
- Newspapers.com (UNC login required)
Bound volumes
- in the North Carolina Collection for "most years;" NCC will refer you to microfilm in most cases.
- in the Park Library. 1927 - spring 2009
Full issues on microfilm
- in the North Carolina Collection 1893-present (C071 T16). Free registration required to use the NCC; more info
- in Davis Library, 1982-present (Serial 1-1414)
Headline Archive 1970-2015. Retired May 2020.
Print Index, August 1970- August 1991 available in Davis (LH1.U6 D34 Index)
Online historic archives. Dates vary; include 1900s through 1960s. Search via archive.org and download as pdf.

Archive.org DTH website
Browse some issues of the archived version of the DTH website. 2000-present.
Wayback Machine DTH
Browse some issues of the archived version of the DTH on unc.edu. 1997-2000.

Links not working? Log into American City Business Journals first, then return to click on one of the N.C. Business Journals.