Recreational Therapy Resources (UNC Hospitals): Databases
Created by Health Science Librarians
Learn More about Using Databases
Don't forget, Ask Us when you have difficulty finding what you're looking for in a database.
Don't forget, many databases have a link to help files as part of their search screens.
Full Text Articles via Find@UNC
Includes Find@UNC in PubMed and what to do when the article is not online via Find@UNC.
- CINAHL & PubMed Searching & Navigating (Eastern Michigan U. Library)CINAHL and PubMed are two of the most widely used databases in the Health Sciences. CINAHL and PubMed are often searched for similar material, so this guide presents concepts essential to both. The content is broken down into small chunks, designed to accommodate the busiest schedules as well as provide easy reference.
- Sample Search on EbscoHOST (YouTube)This is a sample search on the EBSCOhost platform. Uses a search example question to illustrate how you can use the elements of a question to build a search with the thesaurus.
- APA Database on EbscoHOST Training Videos (YouTube)Additional videos for UNC APA databases: PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, PsycTESTS, PsycCRITIQUES.
For help using the New PubMed platform (5/2020), see New PubMed Resource Box.
PubMed resources below are being updated but still have useful information demonstrated using the original PubMed platform.
- Searching PubMedCreated by HSL clinical librarians, this guide provides a way to quickly review the basic PubMed search skills needed to answer clinical questions.
- Scopus TutorialsBasic online tutorials.
- Scopus Quick Reference GuideDownloadable
- Embase Quick User Guidedownloadable
Other Relevant Information Resources
Aids for Organizing Your Search
Use this guide to help visualize and plan your search:
- From Purdue Libraries Creating a Search Strategy Guide: Constructing a Search Statement Worksheet (.pdf download).
Use this log to keep your search organized and to document your search strategy for reporting:
(Allied) Health Sciences Liaison
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3505-6341
- Barbara's Profile
- brrenner@email.unc.edu
- HSL News/Features
- All (Allied) Health Sciences & Related Guides
- Alternative Academic Careers (ALTAC) Guide
- Appreciative Inquiry & Positive Psychology Resources
- Citing & Writing
- Implicit Bias Resources
- Publishing
- Qualitative Research Resources
- Sciwheel Guide
- So You Want to Be a Librarian?
- Systematic Reviews
- Writing in the Health Sciences
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
(Google Maps for directions)
A to Z Databases
- browse by title
- browse by subject
- search by database name