Women at Carolina: Community

"Community" sees women at Carolina beyond the borders of campus.

Whole women carologue : a guide to resources for women in North Carolina. Chapel Hill, N.C. : Switchboard,1974. 

Orange County Rape Crisis Center

The center line : the newsletter of the Orange County Rape Crisis Center. Orange County Rape Crisis Center (N.C.), author

League of Women Voters of Chapel Hill/Carrboro (N.C.) Records, 1947-1995

The collection contains records, beginning in 1947, of the League of Women Voters of Chapel Hill/Carrboro. Materials are chiefly minutes, financial records, voter services files, special project files, pamphlets, and newsletters.

Print and published material authored by the League of Women Voters, Chapel Hill.

University Woman's Club of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1949-2017

The University Woman's Club was established at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill in 1949 as an outgrowth of the University Newcomer's Club. Through teas, tours, excursions, dinners, and other activities, the club sought to foster closer social ties among university faculty wives and women staff members. The Newcomer's Club had been formed in 1939 and in 1969 became a division of the University Woman's Club. The purpose of the Newcomer's Division was to assist new faculty wives and women faculty and staff in becoming acquainted with each other, with the university, and with the Chapel Hill community. In 1987 the Newcomer's Division was disbanded and replaced by the Friends' Network and the Newcomer's Events Committee. Records of the University Woman's Club include the constitution and bylaws of the club, minutes of general meetings and board meetings, records of officers and committees, scrapbooks, membership records, and publicity.

Print and published material by the University Women's Club

American Association of University Women, Chapel Hill Branch Records, 1923-1981

Intermittent records of the Chapel Hill branch of the Association, including correspondence, membership information, annual reports of activities filed with the national office in Washington, D.C., programs submitted at conventions of the North Carolina state division, and other miscellaneous materials. Volumes are chiefly minutes and scrapbooks, 1923-1972. There are no papers for the years 1923-1927, 1932-1933, 1936- 1937, 1939-1940, or 1941-1942.

Print and published material by the Association of University Women, Chapel Hill Branch

Club Records, 1932-1982

The Club, a women's social group in Chapel Hill, N.C., that functioned from 1932 to 1982. The main purpose of the Club was "for the members to become better acquainted with each other over their mending bags and baskets," but most meetings also included short programs of "intellectual value" presented by each member in turn. Membership was limited to 12 persons. 

Republican Women's Club of Chapel Hill Records, 1958-1990s

The Republican Women's Club of Chapel Hill, N.C., is a member of the North Carolina Federation of Republican Women. The North Carolina Federation of Republican Women is affiliated with the National Federation of Republican Women. The collection includes office files relating to the activities of the Republican Women's Club of Chapel Hill, N.C. Also included are some materials relating to the North Carolina Federation of Republican Women and the National Federation of Republican Women.

Lollipop Power, Inc., Records, 1970-1986

Lollipop Power was a non-profit corporation formed by a group of women to publish non-sexist children's books. The corporation operated from 1970 to 1986 in Chapel Hill and Carrboro, N.C. Correspondence with authors and others, subject files, clippings, volumes, financial records, meeting records, distribution ledgers, photographs, and other material relating to Lollipop Power, Inc. Other material includes copies of various editions of books published by Lollipop Power and audio tapes of interviews relating to the publication of non-sexist children's books. Of particular interest: Box 6 (Published Books. Thirty-seven different editions of nineteen books issued by Lollipop Power. These books include paperback, hardback, and library editions), Pictures: Twenty-eight photographs of members of Lollipop Power. (P-4453/1-28).

Whole women carologue : a guide to resources for women in North Carolina. Chapel Hill, N.C. : Switchboard,1974. 

Feminary : a feminist journal for the South emphasizing the lesbian vision. Chapel Hill, N.C. : Feminary 

Feminist newsletter. Chapel Hill, N.C. : Feminist Newsletter, -1974. 

Directory for southern feminists Southern Feminist Connection. Winston-Salem, N.C. : Southern Feminist Connection, March, 1976. North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) Cp396 S72d

Directory of Chapel Hill women's organizations. Chapel Hill, N.C., Chapel Hill Council of Women's Organizations. North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) Cp971.68 C46d2 and Cp971.68 C46d4 

Publications by the "Orange/Durham Coalition for Battered Women (Durham, N.C.)"

Gatha Horton Lassiter Papers, 1954, 1970s-2000

Gatha Horton Lassiter (1910-1988), of Chapel Hill, N.C., worked in practical nursing, was active in the civil rights movement, and volunteered with several local churches and other community groups. The Gatha Horton Lassiter Papers consist of photocopied articles and clippings, photographs, funeral service programs, letters, and other materials that document her community service work, extended family, and prominent African-American residents of Chapel Hill, N.C. There are also two articles from American Nationalist opposing efforts by the U.S. Supreme Court and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) to promote racial integration.

Guion Griffis Johnson Papers, 1873-1987

Guion Griffis Johnson of Chapel Hill, N.C., was a professor, author, scholar, journalist, women's advocate, and general civic leader. Johnson held a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of North Carolina. She published three books: A Social History of the Sea Islands (1930), Antebellum North Carolina (1937), and Volunteers in Community Service (1967). Her husband was Guy Johnson, professor of sociology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In the 1920s and 1930s, Johnson and her husband worked together at the Institute for Research in Social Science at University of North Carolina. Correspondence, writings, subject files, and other materials relating to Johnson's professional and family life. Topics of primary interest include civil rights, race relations, volunteerism, women's equality, education, school desegregation, poverty, international cooperation, and general public welfare. The bulk of the materials relate to Johnson's work with numerous women's, church, fraternal, and public service organizations at both the local and national levels. Among Johnson's more important organizational affiliations were the American Association of University Women, Chi Omega Fraternity for Women, the North Carolina Council of Women's Organizations, the North Carolina Federation of Women's Clubs, the North Carolina Council for World Affairs, the Methodist Church, and United Church Women (Church Women United). 

Mildred Council Papers (#5003) 1990s-2010s

African American businesswoman and cook Mildred Council ("Dip") was born on a farm in rural Chatham County, N.C, in 1929. In 1957, Council became the manager of Bill's Barbecue, a restaurant owned by her father-in-law in Chapel Hill, N.C. She opened Mama Dip's Country Kitchen in Chapel Hill in 1976. The Mildred Council Papers consist of personal, family, and restaurant materials. The original deposit includes handwritten and typed drafts for Mama Dip's Kitchen (1999). The drafts contain extensive descriptions of farm life in North Carolina during the Depression of the 1930s; notes on Mildred Council's family in Chatham County, N.C., Chapel Hill, N.C., and elsewhere; and information relating to ingredients and preparation of various southern-style recipes. The addition of January 2020 documents Mildred Council and her extended family in social, business, and church settings. Materials include correspondence, printed materials, writings, recipes, photographs, and scrapbooks with publicity about Mildred Council and Mama Dip's restaurant.

Martha C. McKay Papers 1971-1992

Martha C. McKay, women's rights activist, Democratic Party leader, and economist, was born in Winchester, Mass., in 1920. She received her B.A. in Economics in 1941 from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill. The collection includes speeches, correspondence, and subject files relating to Martha C. McKay's activities as the founder of the North Carolina Women's Political Caucus and the National Women's Political Caucus, her efforts to garner support for the Equal Rights Amendment, and her efforts to promote economic justice and development for women.

Interviews with Frances Neal Hargraves

Interviews with Miriam Slifkin, founder of the Orange County Rape Crisis Center