Skip to Main Content

Women at Carolina: Organizations

Chat with a librarian

chat loading...

Overview

"Organizations" are formal groups of women at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Association of Women Students

Materials about and by the Association of Women Students are in collections across Wilson Special Collections Library. In both search boxes enter "Association of Women Students."

She. Chapel Hill, N.C. : Association of Women Students, 1973- North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) C396 S53

Student Government

The Women's Association, made up of all women students, was organized as a social organization in 1917 and became a governing body in 1921. The Women's Council served as an executive body and a disciplinary power for Honor System and Campus Code cases involving women. In the 1940s, the Coed Senate was established as a subsidiary body to the Student Legislature to pass laws affecting only women students. It merged with the Student Legislature in 1956.

See Student Government of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1919-2016, particularly Series 4

Campus Y

The Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) was established on campus in 1936 and began to sponsor programs and events of a similar nature. In 1954, the paid staffs and advisory boards of the YMCA and YWCA were merged; however, the two associations maintained separate student cabinets until 1973. The merged organization was known as the YMCA-YWCA until 1976, when its name changed to Campus Y.

See Campus Y of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1860-2005 (bulk 1950-2005), particularly YWCA material.

Publications of the Campus Y, particularly [Miscellaneous periodicals of the University of North Carolina YMCA, YWCA and Campus Y] [1941-1999] “UNC YWCA News” with feature “Suzie ‘Y’ Sez” (v.1 no.1 Dec. 1, 1941)

Anne Queen Papers, 1930-1993

Anne Queen was the white director of the YMCA-YWCA at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Her papers consist of correspondence, memoranda, reports, notes, financial documents, clippings, pamphlets, publications, pictures, and other documents relating to her professional and personal life.

Women in Student Organizations

Carolina Union of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1931-2014

The Addition of October 2011 consists of files on student organizations that applied for official university recognition during the 1980s and 1990s. Numerous student organizations could be of potential interest - search page for "women."

Hillel

Black and White Film Box 6, Hillel Women's Association: Images showing members of the Hillel Women's Association performing anniversary rites, November 1957, in William W. Prouty Photographic Collection, circa 1955-1961

Publications

Ephemera

These are materials created for a specific event or purpose and intended to be discarded after use-related to events, departments, and organizations at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Examples of ephemera include flyers, brochures, and event posters.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Ephemera Collection, 1918-2018 

[Announcements, bulletins, programs, etc.] University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (organized by date)

LGBTQ

Lambda : the newsletter of the Carolina Gay Association. Chapel Hill, N.C. : The Association, 1976- North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) — Folio FC378 UQLa (v.1(1976)-  starting in 2004, issues are at call number C378 UQLa)

Bisexuals, Gay Men, Lesbians and Allies for Diversity (B-GLAD)

Of particular interest: Folder 23, Bisexuals, Gay Men, Lesbians and Allies for Diversity (B-GLAD) and Carolina Gay and Lesbian Association (CGLA), 1987-1992 and undated, in Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) Center of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1975-2014

Women's Athletic Association (WAA)

Prior to 1971, opportunities for women students to participate in athletics were limited. The main opportunities at the university were the intramural and co-recreational sports sponsored by the Women's Athletic Association and the Department of Physical Education. There were no official intercollegiate athletic teams for women at the university, although women could compete as individuals in intercollegiate tournaments. The Women's Athletic Association (WAA), established in 1934, was a student organization whose membership included all women students. According to a WAA handbook from 1951-1952, its purpose was "to develop qualities of leadership, to promote interest in women's athletics, and to provide opportunities for participation in various recreational activities." The organization was run by students, with logistical support provided by the Department of Physical Education.

Department of Athletics of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1919-1997, 2000 (Bulk 1919-1997)

Series 4A. Women's Athletic Association, 1951-1976 (Addition of June 2012).

Women's Athletic Association handbook, 1963-1964. Esther Winters, editor. Chapel Hill, N.C. : University of North Carolina, 1963. North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) Cp378 UR67

A history of the Women's Athletic Association of the University of North Carolina from 1934-1970 by Diann Frances Gersch.‚Äč 1971. Thesis/Dissertation Print Davis Library — Thesis (3rd floor) Thesis Phys. Educ. 1971 G381; North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) — Thesis C378 UO2 1971 GERSCH, D.F.

 

Woman's Association

The Woman's Association of the University of North Carolina legislation, 1935-1936. [Chapel Hill, North Carolina] : The Woman's Association of the University of North Carolina, August 1935. North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) Cp378 US31

The Woman's Association published handbooks and guides for women students.

SOHP Interviews

University of North Carolina: Anne Queen and the Campus Y

Interviews pertain to the Campus Y, a UNC Chapel Hill student organization established in 1859, and to Anne Queen, its director from 1964 to 1975. Most of the interviews with former Campus Y student leaders, alumni, staff, and university administration were conducted in 1990 by C. Cheatham and in 2010 as part of the 150th Anniversary celebration of the Campus Y. Interviews include recollections of personal experiences with the Campus Y, reflections on social justice movements and students' development of social consciousness, and advice for students who become involved with the Campus Y. Major topics include Anne Queen's directorship and other staff support, student leadership and community, work in post-college life, and the 150th Anniversary. The Campus Y spurred the creation of UNC's campus bookstore and the institution of first-year student orientation, intramural athletics, and the Carolina Symposium. It participated in the launching of the Student Environmental Action coalition (SEAC), the Student Coalition for Action in Literacy Education (SCALE), and Nourish International. The Campus Y was involved with the integration effort in UNC's undergraduate program, the local civil rights movement, Vietnam War and anti-apartheid protests, the overturning of t he North Carolina speaker ban law, the Foodworkers' Strikes of 1969 and 1970, and other major social movements.

Interview with Sherry Williamson, discussing the Carolina Gay and Lesbian Association and LAMBDA