Women at Carolina: Social Life

"Social Life" refers to the daily life of women at UNC-Chapel Hill, including, at one time, rules and regulations regarding curfews, dress codes, and living arrangements.

"Women's Hours, 1968" Folder 305, Box 6, Office of Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Joseph Carlyle Sitterson Records, 1966-1972

Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1920-2004

The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs has administrative responsibility for the university's Division of Student Affairs, which provides extracurricular programs and services for students and oversees student organizations and activities. Of particular note could be Box 12 (Visitation Policy, 1951-1973) or Box 13 (Women's Rules: Correspondence, 1965-1972; Women's Rules: Self-Limiting Hours, 1968-1972).

Women's Rules and Regulations - Print

Social regulations for undergraduate women students. [Chapel Hill, North Carolina] : [Interdormitory Council, University of North Carolina] North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) Cp378 US3 1943/1944

Regulations for women students. Chapel Hill : [University of North Carolina]. North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) Cp378 US3.1 1962/1963 and Cp378 US3.1 1963/1964-1970/1971

An informal history of the women's rules at the University of North Carolina, 1967-1972 : with prefatory remarks by Katherine Carmichael. Produced: March 29, 1977. North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) Cp378 US66

Office of the Dean of Women of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Records, 1897-1981 - search page for "rules"

Women's/Woman's handbook. Published by the Women's Residence Council.

19th century dance cards. In [Announcements, bulletins, programs, etc.] University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

So you're coming to a Carolina dance. [Chapel Hill, North Carolina] : Published by the Order of the Grail, the German Club, and the Interfraternity Council of the University of North Carolina under the auspices of the University Dance Committee, [between 1921? and 1940?] North Carolina Collection (Wilson Library) Cp378 UR64

“The Wimmin are With Us to Stay”: Women’s Social Activities at the University of North Carolina from 1897 to 1946 by Emma Watts. 2018.

A study of women students' and parents' attitudes toward women's rules at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill by Merry Susan Swanson. 1970.

These are materials created for a specific event or purpose and intended to be discarded after use-related to events, departments, and organizations at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Examples of ephemera include flyers, brochures, and event posters.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Ephemera Collection, 1918-2018 

[Announcements, bulletins, programs, etc.] University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (organized by date)

Interview with Sharon Rose Powell, born 1947 and entered UNC-Chapel Hill in 1963. She recalls the "women's rules" - in loco parentis.

Interview with Martha Deberry, born 1931, attended UNC Law School and was a graduate counselor. She discusses work with Kitty Carmichael in the Dean of Women's office, "women's rules" and attitudes towards them.

Louise Davis Photographs, 1937

Photographs compiled by white student Louise Davis, a member of the Chi Omega sorority and the first woman commencement marshal when she graduated in 1937 from the historically all male University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill, N.C. Images depict student life on the campus from the perspective of a woman in a predominately male environment. Subjects include campus buildings, students, and campus life at the University.

"University of North Carolina (1793-1962) -- Students -- Handbooks, manuals, etc"

"Women college students -- North Carolina -- Chapel Hill -- Handbooks, manuals, etc"