Skip to main content

Slavic & East European Collections: Home

Overview of the Slavic & East European Collections at the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries

A reaffirmation of the University Library values

The University Library affirms the University’s core values regarding diversity, inclusion, and multiculturalism. The University Library is committed, through its policies, practices, programs, collections, and services, to creating and fostering an environment of inclusion, equity, non-discrimination, and pluralism, grounded in respect and appreciation for all, and promoting and celebrating individual and collective achievement.

Slavic & East European Studies Librarian

Kirill Tolpygo
Contact:
134 Davis Library, CB#3918
(919) 962-8044

Collection Overview

Welcome to the Slavic and East European Collections at UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries!

Eastern Europe has produced some of the most important cultural, political and scientific developments in modern history, and continues to profoundly shape world affairs. The Slavic and East European Collections at UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries are vital to the research, teaching and learning of UNC faculty, students, staff and all residents of North Carolina who seek to understand this complex region. Our collections support scholars from all disciplines, with an emphasis on resources for Bosnian, Croatian, Czech, Hungarian, Polish, Russian, Serbian, Slovak and Ukrainian studies. Likewise, our collections enable research on former states (the Austro-Hungarian Empire, Czechoslovakia, the Russian Empire, the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia), as well as comparative and cross-disciplinary inquiry into the entire region (Central Europe, Southeast Europe, the Caucasus, the Baltic States, Central Asia) and its relations with the rest of the world. Our unique holdings serve scholars throughout the United States and worldwide.

UNC is a public institution and welcomes all visitors to our library collections. North Carolina residents may obtain a Borrower's Card in order to check out materials, including non-English publications. Visiting unaffiliated scholars interested in full access to library collections, including electronic resources may wish to apply for the CSEEES Fellows Program.

 

Current Exhibition, Jan. 21-May 14, 2017

World on Fire in Flames of Blood

Slavic, Eurasian and East European Studies at UNC

Center for Slavic, Eurasian and East European StudiesThe Department of Germanic & Slavic Languages & Literatures

 

Faculty Publications