Database Tips : CINAHL and other EbscoHOST Databases
Help & Tips for using some of the databases common in the Allied Health Sciences disciplines
Created by Health Science Librarians
EbscoHOST Databases (General)
The EbscoHOST platform includes these and many more (Click "Choose Databases" beneath the top blue ribbon in any EbscoHOST database to see the complete list):
- Academic Search Premier (general),
- AgeLine,
- CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health),
- Education Full Text,
- ERIC (Education),
- Global Health,
- APA Psyc databases,
- Social Work Abstracts
- Browsing Subject Terms in EBSCOhost Databases - TutorialHow to browse the Subject Terms/Thesaurus ("Authority File"); how to create database searches using subject terms.
- Using the EbscoHOST Results ListIncludes:
* Limiting results
* Saving articles to the folder
* Previewing images - Citation Matcher in EbscoHOST databasesSearch for article citations for which you have incorrect or incomplete information.
CINAHL database (Nursing & Allied Health)
- CINAHL & PubMed Searching & Navigating (Eastern Michigan U. Library)CINAHL and PubMed, two widely used health-related databases, are often searched for similar material. This guide presents concepts essential to both in small chunks, for easy use and reference.
- Using the EbscoHOST Results ListIncludes:
* Limiting results
* Saving articles to the folder
* Previewing images - Citation Matcher in EbscoHOST databasesSearch for article citations for which you have incorrect or incomplete information.
Global Health
APA (American Psychological Association) Databases
- Sample PsycINFO Search on EbscoHOST (YouTube)Sample search of PsycINFO, using a sample question to illustrate how you can use the elements of a question to build a search with the thesaurus.
- APA Databases on EbscoHOST Training Videos (YouTube)Additional videos for UNC APA databases: PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, PsycTESTS, PsycCRITIQUES.
- Searching PsycINFO’s Tests and Measurements Field (APA YouTube)Use the Tests & Measures field in PsycINFO to look up information related to psychological tests and measures.
● Identify tests and measures on a specific topic
● Locate research that uses a particular test or measure
Connect with us
