Database Tips : General Database Tips
Help & Tips for using some of the databases common in the Allied Health Sciences disciplines
Created by Health Science Librarians
General Database Help
Don't forget, Ask Us when you have difficulty finding what you're looking for in a database.
- Start your database searches from Libraries database links in order to use Find@UNC button for linking to full text.
- Many databases have a link to help files as part of their search screens.
- All Campus Databases (A-Z)• browse by title
• browse by subject
• search by database name
These tips are from the PubMed User Guide; however, the concepts are applicable to other databases:
See these HSL YouTube search videos for additional details and strategies demonstrated in the PubMed database.
Additional Database Help Guides
- Forming Focused Questions with PICOPico is an acronym (Patient/Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) widely-used in some health profession disciplines to denote the key components of a clinical question. There are additional letters and frameworks to help you formulate a question fitting your research. Not all parts of PICO are required.
- Full-text Articles via Find @ UNCAlways start from UNC-CH Library pages so you will see the Find @ UNC button.
Includes Find@UNC in PubMed and what to do when the article is not online via Find@UNC.
UNC Health Sciences Libraries: YouTube Search Help Videos
The YouTube videos below use PubMed to demonstrate additional search tips; the concepts are applicable to other biomedical databases.
HSL Database-specific Searching Guides
Connect with us
