Database Tips : PubMed Resources

What is in PubMed?

PubMed has citation information (e.g., title, author, journal, publication date) and abstracts for more than 36 million published articles and some books. PubMed includes the MEDLINE® database; citations for articles in the PubMed Central (PMC) free full text archive, including articles that report on research funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH); and citations for books from the NCBI online Bookshelf.

Always access PubMed from our library website. 

• Tips for Using PubMed (2 pages) 
  • To find full text, use the Find at UNC buttons when you click on a specific citation.
  • Here is further UNC information for finding the full text:  https://guides.lib.unc.edu/full-text

• PubMed Online Training.  These include short, sometimes interactive quick tours, tutorials, webcasts that walk you through the basics of how to use PubMed for the most common tasks).  
  • Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice PubMed training:  Do the whole tutorial or select individual components.
  • Clinical Queries Search: uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.
    • Clinical Queries Search llnk is located under "Find" on PubMed Search Page
    • Includes Clinical Study Categories and COVID-19 Search Filter
      • Systematic Review and Medical Genetics filters have moved. 
    • To run a clinical query:  
      • Click on PubMed from HSL Quick Links (below search box).  
      • Then, scroll down to "Find" column and select Clinical Queries 
  • Find Articles on a Topic
  • Subject search: how it works:  
    • how automatic term mapping and explosion enhance your PubMed search.
  • Save searches and set email alerts:
  • Find articles by author 
  • Find articles from a citation (or parts of one): 
  • Find articles by journal
  • Searching for Systematic Reviews: use the Systematic Review article type filter on the sidebar, or enter your search terms followed by AND systematic[sb] in the search box. For example, lyme disease AND systematic[sb].
  • Medical Genetics Searches: Medical Genetics filters limit retrieval to citations related to various topics in medical genetics. See Medical genetics search filters for the filter search strategies.
• PubMed Online FAQ and User Guide  

For additional assistance, HSL’s Ask Us is ready and able to help  

Always access PubMed from our library website. 

From UNC Health Sciences Library Instruction Video YouTube site

The YouTube videos below use PubMed to demonstrate additional search tips; however, the concepts are applicable to other biomedical databases.  

PubMed resources below are from UNC Health Sciences Library online Research Guides

For additional assistance, HSL’s Ask Us is ready and able to help.