Database Tips

Help & Tips for using some of the databases common in the Allied Health Sciences disciplines

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)

DiTA (Diagnostic Test Accuracy for physiotherapy tests) Helps

OT Search Database from AOTA/AOTF

OT Search

The Occupational Therapy Bibliographic System from AOTA and AOTF

Hints

  • Cookies must be enabled in your browser to use OT Search.  
  • OT Search often works best using the Firefox browser.
  • If you get a large number of results and want to filter or limit them, select "Limit Search" from menu bar.
  • Using "X-Ref" from the menu bar will show you clickable subject headings that may help you translate your keyword search for better results.
  • Note: Do NOT use your browser's back arrow (<-) to return to a previous page.
    • Use "Go Back" from the Menu Bar at the top of the page to go back or "New Search" to begin a new search.

 

Getting to full text (PDFs) for the citations you find in OT Search can take some patience: 

  • For non-AJOT (American Journal of Occupational Therapy) electronic journals licensed by UNC
    • use the "url" links from OT Search results. 
  • For non-AJOT electronic journals not available electronically from UNC (no url link)
    • search the UNC catalog by journal title
  • For master's theses or doctoral dissertations, try ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
  • For AJOT: Links in this database to AJOT (American Journal of Occupational Therapy) do not link to UNC's AJOT subscription. 
    • use url link in OTSearch to navigate to AJOT page.  
    • copy article DOI and paste it into Google Scholar (linked from UNC library website) or add the citation using the DOI into a citation manager such as Sciwheel (formerly F1000 Workspace), then use Find@UNC button to link to article via UNC's AJOT subscription.  
    • OR use citation information from OT Search to locate AJOT articles in CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1980 - year ago) or by using  AJOT ejournal link.   
    • Note:  
      • For 1980-2018, AJOT electronically received by HSL
      • For pre 1980:  AJOT available IN PRINT at HSL (4th floor) for 1947 (v1) through 2012 (v66)

 

OT Seeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidencer) Database

Use top menu bar to access Advanced Search, Resources, and additional information for Using OTSeeker.

APA/American Psychological Association Databases (PsycArticles, PsycInfo, PsycTests)