Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
(Allied) Health Sciences: Databases
General (Allied) Health Sciences guide. See also, discipline-specific guides for the (Allied) Health Sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Core Databases
Note that each Allied Health Sciences discipline-specific guide links to the resources most useful for that discipline, including additional resources not on this guide. Links to these guides can be found on the All AHS Guides tab of this guide, in the Allied Health Sciences Guide box.
Search for Articles across hundreds of journals via these databases:
Clinical Information
Medical, Drug and Patient Information
-
UpToDateClinical resource specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly and easily so that it can be used right at the point of care for a broad range of hospital and medical specialties. Access: Available in EPIC or onsite at UNC Health Chapel Hill & Hillsborough locations when on Skynet.
Drug Information
In addition to the drug information in ClincalKey and UptoDate, see these resources:
-
Facts & Comparisons e-Answers
Drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts are seamlessly updated and can be customized; includes Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction FactsTM, The Review of Natural Products and Med Facts: Patient Information. -
Micromedex (On Campus Only)
Search for drug information by drug, disease, or toxicology. Additional tools (accessed via top tabs) provide information about drug interactions; IV compatibility; drug ID; and drug comparisons. NeoFax provides pediatric drug information. Use mobile instructions for off-campus access. -
Natural Medicines
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbal remedies and supplements, with validated rating scales and grades to quickly evaluate quality; comprehensive monographs designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Includes content drawn from the former Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits available.
Patient Education
In addition to the patient education materials available in ClinicalKey, UptoDate and Micromedex, see these resources:
-
MedlinePlusNational Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends providing information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in a variety of languages.
Anatomy & Physiology Resources
Selected Databases from Related Disciplines
Note that each Allied Health Sciences discipline-specific guide links to the resources most useful for that discipline, including additional resources not on this guide. Links to these guides can be found on the All AHS Guides tab of this guide, in the Allied Health Sciences Guide box.
Multidisciplinary
Sociology and Social Work
Biology
Evidence Based Practice: Multidisciplinary Resources
-
PICOPICO clarifies and focuses questions that arise during a patient assessment. It identifies and organizes the key aspects of a complex patient presentation to help you brainstorm keywords for your literature search, refine your search for the best results, and save time.
Databases and EBP Content Collections
-
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, complementing the biomedical research mission of the National Institutes of Health. The Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers & Systems (CAHPS) program is a public-private initiative to develop standardized surveys of patients experiences with ambulatory and facility-level care. The surveys offer national benchmarks for quality measures that are of interest to researchers and individual hospitals.
-
Cochrane LibraryLeading source for full-text systematic reviews in health care. Searches a collection of databases that includes the CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more. Click on "Search Limits" or the Browse tab to select content from a specific database.
-
The Campbell CollaborationHelps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.An international research network based on voluntary cooperation among researchers of a variety of backgrounds.
-
ECRI Guidelines TrustECRI Institute, an independent, nonprofit patient safety organization, has launched the ECRI Guidelines Trust™, a portal to expertly vetted, evidence-based guideline briefs and scorecards.
ECRI Institute developed the new resource in response to urgent pleas from healthcare professionals after substantial federal funding cuts forced the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to shut down the National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC). ECRI had developed and maintained the NGC website for 20 years.
-
TRIP Database : the Search Engine for Evidence-Based MedicineOpen access clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
-
What Works Clearinghouse: Publications and ReviewsRigorous and relevant evidence on which to ground education practice and policy from the Institute of Education Sciences' (IES), research arm of the US Department of Education.
-
DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
EBP Tutorials and Tools
-
Introduction to Evidence-Based PracticeThis tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence Based Medicine. Developed by Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
-
Evidence-Based Practice: Methods, Models, & Tools for Mental Health ProfessionalsDetailed guidance discuss how to understand, evaluate, and implement and implement evidence-based practice from psychologists and psychiatrists. By Stout, C.E. & R.A. Hayes. John Wiley & Sons. 2005
-
Evidence-Based Medicine Toolkit (U Alberta)From the University of Alberta, this is a collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making.
-
JAMAevidenceProvides tools for students and clinicians to evaluate and interpret medical literature and better understand the principles of Evidence Based Practice/Medicine, including the books Users' Guides to Medical Literature, The Rational Clinical Examination , etc.
-
CASP (Critical Appraisal Skills Program) Knowledge HubIncludes critical appraisal checklists for key study designs; glossary of key research terms; key links related to evidence based healthcare, statistics, and research; a bibliography of articles and research papers about CASP and other critical appraisal tools and approaches 1993-2012.
-
CEBM/Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, University of Oxford ResourcesScroll down resources page EBM guides and practice how-to's for researchers, clinicians, students and teachers.
-
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial (UNC & Duke)From UNC and Duke University, this tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine
-
SUMSearch2SUMSearch 2 simultaneoulsy searches for studies(original studies and systematic reviews), and practice guidelines.
Other Relevant Information Resources
-
Education: Oxford Research Encyclopedia of EducationNote: access is limited to 3 simultaneous users. Close/sign out when done.
-
E-Research by DisciplineFrom University Libraries site.
-
Referencefrom University Libraries E-Research by Discipline site
Learn How to Use Library Databases
-
Database Tips GuideLearn how to search effectively for citations and links to the full text of articles using library databases such as PubMed.
Aids for Organizing Your Search
Use this guide to help visualize and plan your search:
- From Purdue Libraries Creating a Search Strategy Guide: Constructing a Search Statement Worksheet (.pdf download).
Use this log to keep your search organized and to document your search strategy for reporting:
Advanced Google Searching
Below are advanced Google search techniques along with an example of each.
- To search one specific website; site:ncleg.gov
- To search one type of website; site:.edu
- To eliminate one website; -site:ncleg.gov
- To eliminate one word, you can also use the - sign; -France
- To search for a specific filetype; filetype:pdf
- To search for a specific phrase, put those words in quotation marks; "temporary assistance for needy families"
- In our library databases, you may use OR or AND when you are conducting a search. OR will give you more results and AND will give you less. In Google, it assumes all the words you search are needed, so you don't need to write AND. If you'd like to search using OR, Google version of OR is |, Morocco|Spain means Morocco OR Spain.
- To eliminate AI results from your search; -ai
Mapping Tools & More
-
PolicyMapAccess social, economic, health and demographic data about U.S. communities and markets in this online mapping tool. View data on map, in table or chart format, and download those data that are openly available. Reports provide a summary snapshot of an area: Community Profile, Community Health Profile, Rental Housing Report, and Housing Mortgage Report.
-
SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
Data analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, business, consumer spending, marketing data from government sources, EASI Analytics, Nielsen Scarborough, and SimmonsLOCAL Consumer Insights. Export data in spreadsheet or shapefile format, and export maps as images.
Note:Access is limited to 5 concurrent users. -
Social ExplorerProvides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
A to Z Databases
- browse by title
- browse by subject
- search by database name