(Allied) Health Sciences: All DHS Guides
General (Allied) Health Sciences guide. See also, discipline-specific guides for the (Allied) Health Sciences.
Created by Health Science Librarians
(Allied) Health Sciences Guides
- HSL Video Tutorials for Department of Health Sciences StudentsSeries of 5 short videos: Intro to HSL (Welcome & Orientation), Catalog Searching, Using Databases, Article Searching (including using InterLibrary Loan for article we do not own), Advanced Searching Tips (including Advanced Searching in PubMed).
Other Collections & Guides Useful for (Allied) Health Sciences
- Tests & Measures (Davis Library; for Social Sciences)This guide is designed to help people get started in finding reviews of tests, identifying tests that might suit a particular need, and obtaining actual copies of tests.
Some Food for Thought on Searching for Disability Research
- Nancy Schaefer (2015) Disability Search Tips and Resources, Medical Reference Services Quarterly, 34:1, 60-74, DOI: 10.1080/02763869.2015.986792Although this resource is several years old and much is evolving in this area, it has information that continues to be useful for searching.
For UNC Chapel Hill Users FIND@UNC link for Full Text.
- DO-IT Glossary of Disability-Related Terms DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) serves to increase the successful participation of individuals with disabilities in challenging academic programs such as those in science, engineering, mathematics, and technology. Primary funding for DO-IT is provided by the National Science Foundation, the State of Washington, and the U.S. Department of Education. DO-IT is a collaboration of UW Information Technology and the Colleges of Engineering and Education at the University of Washington.
- On Searching for the Unknown with Unspeakable Names: Searching PubMed for Disability Research. By P.F. Anderson and LaTeesa James in Bill of Health, the blog of the Petrie-Flom Center at Harvard Law School, September 27, 2023"Currently, structured vocabulary terms related to disability are scattered throughout PubMed’s medical subject heading (MeSH) trees, often without cross references to facilitate discovery, forcing discovery to largely depend on the unstructured language of whatever words were chosen by the authors to describe their research topics. This lack of consensus and consistency across professional disability terms, categories, and definitions contributes to a lack of comparability, discoverability, and access for disability data as well as research."
- Acknowledge Outdated or Offensive Terminology in Searches (UNC Health Sciences Library Systematic Reviews Guide)Research teams need to discuss current and outdated terminology and decide which terms to include in the search to be as comprehensive as possible.
- Addressing antiquated, non-standard, exclusionary, and potentially offensive terms in evidence syntheses and systematic searches. Townsend, W., Anderson, P., Haines, K., Hansen, S., James, L., MacEachern, M., Rana, G., Saylor, K. & Saylor, K. (2022)This document, from the University of Michigan Library, "provides suggested processes and wording for addressing the inclusion of antiquated, non-standard, exclusionary, and potentially offensive terms in evidence syntheses and systematic searches."
Mobile (Apps & More)
Film & Streaming Media
- Finding Medical & Health Films/Images GuideIncludes "Understanding Copyright" resources
Department of Health Sciences
Department of (Allied) Health Sciences History
A History of the Creation of the Department of (Allied) Health Sciences at UNC Chapel Hill
Recent exhibits at HSL explored the history of three Department of (Allied) Health Sciences Divisions:
- Keys to Communication: Speech and Hearing Sciences-- Celebrating the 40th anniversary of the Division at UNC
- Occupation Matters: Thirty Years of Occupational Therapy Education at UNC
- UNC Physician Assistant Studies Program Exhibit
Read a brief history of the the Department of (Allied) Health Sciences at UNC Chapel Hill.
Would you like to look for more information about the history of the Department of (Allied) Health Sciences? Note that several (Allied) Health Sciences programs had their genesis outside of the School of Medicine or Hospital, so you may need to search more broadly. Staff at the University Archives can provide assistance.
- University Archives & Records Management Services @ Wilson LibraryAbout, Location and Hours, Finding Aids, Information for Researchers, Assistance, Contact Information, and More
- Special Collections at HSLResources and services in HSL's Special Collections department.
UNC Health & Wellness
DeStressMonday.org Breathing GIF's & Meditations
- Breathe with the shape6 gifs to help you relax
(Allied) Health Sciences Liaison
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3505-6341
- Barbara's Profile
- brrenner@email.unc.edu
- HSL News/Features
- All (Allied) Health Sciences & Related Guides
- Alternative Academic Careers (ALTAC) Guide
- Appreciative Inquiry & Positive Psychology Resources
- Citing & Writing
- Implicit Bias Resources
- Publishing
- Qualitative Research Resources
- Sciwheel Guide
- So You Want to Be a Librarian?
- Systematic Reviews
- Writing in the Health Sciences
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
(Google Maps for directions)
