Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
**Business Subject Pages and Assets for Reuse: Nonprofits
main boxes and pages for reuse in business subject libguides
Purpose of Research Guide
This guide curates research and information sources for business. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources.
Want guidance?
- Email a business research consultant/librarian:
Nancy Lovas, Davis Library: nancy64@email.unc.edu
Kenan Flagler Research Librarian: Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu - Schedule a consultation appointment with a business librarian.
Identifying Nonprofits
- N.C. Center for Nonprofit OrganizationsProvides a directory of members
- VolunteerMatch -- Triangle AreaCovers hundreds of area nonprofits
- Candid/GuideStar searchCovers U.S. nonprofits
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsIdentifies nonprofits by type and location (as well as companies) using the U.S. Businesses module.
Financial Reports on Nonprofits: Getting the IRS Form 990
About IRS Form 990:
- The IRS Form 990 is required for most non-profits, but there are different versions of the form..
- The 990 form covers income & expenditures, salaries, accomplishments, officers & board of directors, and more.
- More about form 990s from Wikipedia
Sources of 990 forms:
- Foundation Directory Online ProfessionalFDO Professional provides subscribers with access to timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire universe of over 140,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 9.5 million grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
Access to this resource is provided by the Office of Corporate and Foundation Relations at UNC.
- ProPublica Nonprofit ExplorerOver 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations
- GuideStar searchRequires free registration to view the 990 forms
Researching Nonprofit Industries
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsCovers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
Researching Trends in Social Services and Nonprofit Management
- Social Work AbstractsThe Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains records, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
- Business Source PremierCovers nonprofit management
- ABI/INFORM CollectionCovers nonprofit management and other related topics
Business Research Consultant/Librarian
Nancy Lovas
Contact:
Davis Library
Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science