**Business Subject Pages and Assets for Reuse: Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)

main boxes and pages for reuse in business subject libguides

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Reports

3BL CSR Wire
Breaking CSR reports aggregated by industry.
Corporate Register
The global online directory of CR reports. Includes over 145,000 reports across 22,000 companies.

Data Sources for Environmental Social Governance (ESG) & Corporate Social Responsbility (CSR)

Preqin
Preqin is a database of data on private equity venture capital, and real estate deals, funds, investors and fund managers that allows users to analyze data across the entire investment lifecycle. Coverage begins in 1953 but is much more robust starting in 2000. Features of database include information on more than 177,000 VC deals, 75,000 PE deals, and 80,000 RE deals. Examples of data points include Cash flows into and out of funds, Funds terms including carried interest, management fees, hurdle rates, and more. The Private Equity and Venture Capital segments of Preqin may also be accessed through a WRDS account. The Real Estate segment cannot.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS) Data tables (UNC only) (non internet electronic resource)

Historical corporate governance data S&P 1500 companies. The data can be looked at by companies, boards, and or individual directors for years 1997 – 2019. There is also data for Takeover defenses from 2000 to 2019. There are four different spreadsheets for each year.

Special Note: Because of license restrictions Data may be accessed only by currently enrolled students and researchers on the faculty at the University of North Carolina and may not be imported into a widely accessible online database. Data may be used only for research purposes; absolutely no distribution or commercial use whatsoever is permitted. Institutional Shareholder Services must be cited as the source of the data in any publications based on analysis of this data. Please contact David Ernsthausen for information on how to access the database.

This resource has also been known as Investor Responsibility Research Center (IRRC) Data Tables, and RiskMetrics Data Tables

UNC-CH users only

Institutional Shareholder Services Voting Analytics (UNC only) (non internet electronic resource)

Voting Analytics can help you monitor and analyze institutional voting policies, shareholder meeting results and voting patterns to discover trends and actionable insights. Data is available for 2003 to 2013 and is stored in a series of zip files. with 1 Zip file for each year of data.

UNC-CH users only

SDC Platinum

This collection of databases from LSEG includes:

Global New Issues: information on new issues of stock by public companies as well as information on Initial Public Offerings by previously private companies. For U.S. and non U.S. companies.
Mergers & Acquisitions: Joint Ventures and Repurchases: information on U.S and Non U.S. deals.
Municipal Bonds: information on bonds issued by states, cities, towns, and other subnational issuers both in the United States and internationally.
Corporate Governance: information on Poison Pills and Shareholder Activism U.S. companies may have faced.
Private Equity: venture capital and private equity funding information at the firm, fund and portfolio company level. Including exits, fundraising and investments.
Corporate Restructuring: Full details on U.S bankruptcies from 1988 to the present and limited information on Bankruptcies from 1980 to 1990. Also information on Exchange offers for U.S. companies. This data is currently being converted to the new platform. The vendor expects it to be available in Fall 2023.

Special Note: SDC Platinum can be added to an LSEG (Refinitv) Workspace account. Contact researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu to have the module added to your account. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account you can request one at https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. Then email the researchtools account to request SDC access.

How CSR Reports are Named

The naming conventions for Sustainability Reports are quite varied. In fact, one Harvard Law School article (2021) found 18 distinct ways in which companies titled their reports. “Sustainability” (43%) was the most commonly used term in report titles, while “CSR” (24%) and “ESG” (23%) were further behind. Also noteworthy: The average length of a 2021 Sustainability Report was 70 pages.

CSR Report Name Options: Business & Sustainability Report - Citizenship and Sustainability Report - Corporate Citizenship Report - Corporate Responsibility Report - Corporate Social Responsibility Report - Environmental, Social and Governance (or ESG) Report - Global Citizenship Annual Report - Global Citizenship & Sustainability Report - Global Environmental & Social Impact Report - Global Impact Report - Global Responsibility Report - Impact Report - Integrated Sustainability Report and Annual Report - Responsible Business Report - Social Impact and Sustainability Report - Stakeholder Sustainability Report - Sustainability Report - Sustainable Impact Report.

Source: Benjamin Hall, Sustainable Business Guide